Improve traditional wooden house and garden, used as B&B in a village near Basel

updated
Country

Switzerland

Favourited 407 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    63

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired scientist, using my house as a B&B since 4 years.

    For guests, there are up to two floors and 3 rooms.

    House and garden are quite big and already mostly in quite good shape, so don't expect too much work.

    Your stays are meant to be short ones, for initially about 1 week only!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    1. Languages are part of crosscultural understanding - I speak German, French, English, Italian, Spanish 2. Traditional music of the peoples are another mode of expression - I am enthusiast of it. 3. Travellers can profit from my vast knowledge about the country - I have done 1000+ day trips by bicycle, train, bus, cableway mostly to remote less known places. 4. He/she may join me in attending one of the many local cultural events. 4. Enthusiast of bi-cycles like bikes, scooters, sledges. I have 4 bikes and 4 scooters of different type and size. 5. I am not a good cook but am in constant search of delicious specialties. 6. I prefer to go to real places like concert halls, theaters, festivals. So I rarely watch TV, I rather go to an art-house cinema about twice a week with special consideration of the history of films.

  • Help

    Help

    Positions are open both for qualified (professionals/semi-professionals/specialist amateurs) and other interested helpers.

    Currently needed pet sitters for a few days around February 17th - 20th.

    Qualified: Trimming fruit trees, garden design, carpentry, plumbing, electric,
    mounting, general refurbishment, thermal insulation, bicycle mechanics, interior and arts design, image processing,
    hospitality.

    Non-qualified: trimming bushes, cleaning, putting in order.

    I might also need pet-sitters (cat), in case I am going for a journey of 3 to 10 days.

    You should start helping at around 9 a.m., so that we are free from noon.

    These 2-3 hours are meant to pay for the stay. If you are more qualified, you may work longer and get
    paid.

    Please don't apply if you are looking for a stay longer than 1 week, unless you are qualified in a craft.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German French English Italian Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is enough privacy for everyone most of the time. Quality is similar to a hotel's or B&B. Big kitchen and garden. Felix the tomcat is also living here, so you should not be 'allergic' to cats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great for sports: swimming (free pool of the community), cycling (you can get one of my bikes or scooters), hiking (in the nearby forest and Jura hills), snow sports.

    Regional public transport to town (Basel) and villages and hilltops is excellent and costs only 40$ for 1 week.
    Day passes for trips to the Alps cost 45. Lucerne, Berne, Zurich 1 hour, Interlaken 2 hours.

    You might also explore nearby Black Forest and Alsace.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours per day, 5 days a week














Host ref number: 223544914989