Looking for help with our organic garden in lovely Dunedin, on the amazing Otago coast, New Zealand!

Favourited 165 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.


  • Description


    Hi! We are an Irish/French family of 5 living in Dunedin and we're starting our own organic veggie garden here at home. We're also building a chicken coop and cleaning out the existing terrain around the house. Coming from the French Alps where we had a large veggie plot with fruit trees and wild mountain terrain to manage, we are fairly experienced at this type of work and our aim, as always, is to grow as much of our own food as we can. Our philosophy is to try to be as independent as possible and know what we are eating!

    We live in a suburb of Dunedin and we are fortunate to have a generous garden space all around our home. We are only 10 minutes from beautiful beaches (e.g. Blackhead and Tunnel) and yet also only 15 minutes from the city centre. There's a bus service for easy access to Dunedin centre and plenty of stuff to do there too. The Otago coastline is on our doorstep! If you're a surfer, you're going to love it here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    We need help setting up our garden and chicken coop. Firstly we need to build raised beds, erect a polytunnel and fence off the chicken coop. Then we'll need help planting and clearing other parts of the terrain. You will be required to work for 5 hours per day for five days a week. The remaining time is yours to do with as you please. You'll be welcome to share time with us too. We love the outdoors, exploring the coastline, walking and picnics, surfing and other fun stuff. We are experienced hosts and we like people who join in and share our daily chores, fun, activities and life in general.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    We offer you a bedroom of your own or you can camp in the garden if you prefer. You'll have full access to the house and we'll expect that you'll work to our rythym (our kids are going to school so we don't do late nights:)). We'll share mealtimes together and you'll help out with normal kitchen chores. We're mostly vegetarian and can cook gluten/dairy free meals easily ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have two good mountain bikes to lend and there's endless tracks and trails around here. We'll try to help get you to where you need to go (for example, the beach is no problem and we do many trips into town). There's a bus service nearby, and we are very close to the main highway (highway 1) if you want to go further afield. We could pick you up or drop you off as needed and subject to our avilability. We will certainly do what we can to help you get the best out of the experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a bi-lingual family (French and English) you can practice and learn either (or both) of those languages with us. We can teach you gardening skills, introduce you to Dunedin and offer a Franco-Irish outlook on life in NZ!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 219588373276