Island crofting life in a beautiful place on the Isle of Lewis , UK.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For 2019 we are looking for people to join our family team and help build and take part in rewarding outdoor tasks. Building is our focus for 2019 and in March 2020 we are planting many native trees.
    We live on and work our croft (small farm) on the Isle of Lewis.
    Lewis is in the Hebrides, North West Scotland. We are building a road, shed and house while harnessing energy from the sun and water from our springs. Our 4 children help us care for the animals, plant trees and grow vegetables . Our croft is next to the machair and beach in a wild, beautiful area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We croft in a traditional way while respecting nature and appreciating this land we’re lucky enough to call home. We offer a chance to experience crofting culture, traditions and community.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with all areas of crofting life but particularly with building tasks, help build a road, shed and house while harnessing energy from the sun and water from our springs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Gaelic and French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Basic accommodation but in a beautiful place. We live in an off-grid house bus. We have a pod/shepherds hut/playhouse that has a double bed. As building work continues more options will be available! Only smoking outside please. We have a compost toilet on our Croft and there is a modern and clean shower/toilet block a few minutes walk away at the beach which is very handy. Always food available as our children are very active and big munchers!
    Internet is through good 4G, mobile reception is best through EE. There are computers and internet at our community centre too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Uig Chessmen, beaches, museums, surfing, walking, mountains, wildlife, boats, community gatherings and ceilidhs. Cinema, sports centre, shops etc in town (regular buses and we’re usually there once a week too).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 214919796894