Volunteer to help at a yoga and activity holiday retreat in south west of France

updated

Favourited 81 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1003

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello helpers!
    We run a yoga and activity holiday center in south west of France and we are looking for 1 helper (sorry, only 1) that could stay the months of May and June and the first week of July and someone for the month of September.
    There are three houses, a couple of yurts and a tree house around an oval shaped pool set in a 20 acre estate. It's beautiful, peaceful and secluded. We run one week yoga or singing courses one week on one week off. Different teachers come for the week. We have a maximum of 18 students per course.
    There is Nigel, the founder of the place, Anna his daughter (who is pregnant and will be having a baby beginning of April), Luigi, Anna's partner, future baby (due beginning of April) and Judy, our helper. Nigel is Scottish, Anna is British-french, Luigi is Italian and Judy is British. We also have a little dog Canaria who loves giving and getting lots of attention.
    We are situated 5km from Saint Antonin, a small medieval village, and 1 hour from Toulouse.
    There are bikes you are free to use, if you come by car that's a huge plus, if not, its no problem either.
    We are looking for somebody who speaks some French, who is comfortable driving a 9 seater vehicle, with good social skills, a good work ethic, able to work in a team and a willingness to serve and help others. You would also need an understanding of the basic concepts that guide us at La Roane, mainly love and compassion and helping other achieve their potential. We have weekly meetings to ensure that the guests are happy, that you are happy and that we are working well as a team. Communication between us is really important.
    The work is described below. We are like a big family, helping each other out, there is a community feel to the place. We have lovely guests that come so you will meet some great people. Do have a look at our website so that you get a better idea.

    Looking forward to hearing from you :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    Here is a general description, but of course, pretty much everything is flexible, it depends on the group here, the weather, you, ect.. This is to give you an idea more than a strict schedule.
    On the week on:
    Picking up or dropping people off at the airport at the beginning and end of every course, driving a 9 seater van.
    When guests arrive, showing them their room, being welcoming, meet and greet.
    Breakfast (8h30-10h – preparing and laying out breakfast several times a week), lunch (13h15 – 14h15) and dinner (7pm-9pm) duties: laying out the tables, clearing up, washing up. Organisation is a must, happy to do some clearing up and/or filling up wine during dinner. You would be having dinner with the guests (delicious vegetarian food prepared with love by our award winning chef Enzo - who also is a source of knowledge on vegetarian food, nutrition, food history, agriculture, ect)
    General: keeping the garden looking good, making sure everybody is happy (getting extra towels if needed, lamps to be changed, listening to problems, comforting, advising ect..), little jobs around the house.
    Excursion day (twice a week): preparing picnic, driving guests around, having a walk with the guests (of course, not obligatory but lovely walks to do around here) laying out and clearing up picnic.
    Other jobs may include: little shopping trips to town or dropping people off in town, looking after the bikes,...

    Week/days off:
    Doing the shopping two days before the course starts. Collecting the bread. Taking the dog out for a walk.
    Some watering, gardening, maintenance (cleaning the kettles, coffee machines, checking the rooms, etc). During a couple of the off weeks, we have private rentals during the off week; the guests look after themselves but there will be minimal duties during this time.

    We offer love, peace and happiness! Accommodation in your own room, use of the vehicle for local trips when possible, food during the week on, you will also be taking part in the excursions if you want, discovering local medieval villages and soaking up some French culture, going on walks, joining in the evening activities (going to concerts, singing, quizzes, walks ect) and doing some yoga (if there is availability).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian, Spanish, some Portuguese, Catalan, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single room with a shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sunday market is lovely in the village and we go every week. Beautiful nature around, some amazing walks around the gorges of the Aveyron river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to do any language exchange. We all speak fluent English, French and Spanish and Anna and Luigi speak Italian too.
    The area is beautiful, located at the top of a valley with walks around, caves, local markets, ect

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 211651432259