Beachfront property in Tasmania. The best of OZ!!

Favourited 448 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Brony is having medical treatment and some days must rest. Someone who can help with housework, feeding pets, cooking. Practical, functional and reliable. Great if you can drive and take Brony to medical appointments

    Thinking about doing a few simple home renovations - painting and/or building depends on your skill- experience essential

    Could suit couple, one help with house, other with renovations

    Can sign WHV 2ND YEAR VISA EXTENSION - all our helpers have been successful

    Private beach, rainbows, sunrises, sunsets, big starry nights(Milky Way), Aurora Australis(Southern Lights) penguins, dolphins, whales, native animals...
    Sounds like a tourist commercial-a helper experienced all this in his 1st week!
    TASSIE is not small, looks small next to mainland Australia yet is size of Ireland/Denmark & 2X Netherlands. Sister to Hokkaido, Japan. Very diverse - 45 mins south of Hobart

    HOUSE/PET SITTER NEEDED MAY 2014 about 4 weeks. Can arrive earlier to learn routine and/or get more WHV days.

    We plan to have a family holiday and need someone to look after our much loved pets. You will be living in our home alone some of the time and it is a position of great responsibility - experience with horses and dogs essential. Car available to experienced driver

    **MINIMUM STAY 3 WEEKS, prefer longer. We've made good friends with helpx, exchange of knowledge & laughter. Some helpers stay 6 months, many return & we're still in contact with 1st helpers. ***Happy helpers who appreciate EXCHANGE - What you give you get ***Give a Smile-Get a Smile ***Give Respect-Get Respect

    **MUST LOVE ANIMALS - 5 horses, 7 cats, chickens & 2 giant 75 kg dogs, Newfoundlands (chien de Terre-Neuve).Very gentle teddy bears. Dogs & cats share our home(aren't they kind!)- always pet hair:) All animals have been rescued & have a happy ever after home with us

    PLEASE read our profile - lots of info, open & honest. Email us - what interests, passions, skills, work experience, what you do when not travelling, family, where you come from etc. How long you want to stay & why?

    Brony is very ill so really appreciate help. Share duties with family - Cook a meal, clean, laundry, feed animals, farm jobs. We need someone who sees what needs to be done and gets on with it, there will be times when you work alone. We are still having fun, now more than ever, that's important. Laughter is the best medicine

    EXPERIENCED RIDER. Someone who can confidently handle horses and put on rugs/coats. There is not really any work needed with horses, they are pets mainly. So not suited to people who only want to work with horses and nothing else

    Hosts invest in helpers; good food, good coffee, tea, snacks, yes, even chocolate, icecream, soft drinks, free Wifi, free laundry, satellite TV so all sports channels, etc, Movies, private room. We offer work clothes, we often give gifts, you live as family.
    We take people out, fishing, horseriding, sports, snorkelling, night clubs, festivals, road trips. Help with Visa &, tax, saving money when travelling etc. Have organised paid work for good helpers.
    WE want helpers who understand and respect this.- see the value of what we happily give. It is not about $, it is more than that.

    It's a lifestyle farm, not profit but still the hard work. Organic fresh produce & seafood/meat. Simple,rustic,humble home NOT IKEA - NOT consumerism & pretentious.
    House is wood, 100 years old, always repairing using recycled items. REUSE is much better than RECYCLE. Visit secondhand shops, tips etc which is fun & a good laugh.

    Learn skills, produce/preserve food, pasta, pate, wood fired pizzas, bread, pastries, cheese, wine etc, cook with wood fire. Catch/clean fish, natural animal care, natural medicines, building.
    Great life but takes time & effort, country life can be hard. Expect to work hard and get dirty

    Steve has mechanical business specialising in LPG conversion, a cleaner "greener" fuel. Has helped visitors with their vehicle or buy a reliable safe vehicle.

    Our children, Kate 21 & Nik 22, take visitors on road trips, social events, clubbing, festivals,etc.

    Steve is from Greek heritage so expect lively, noisy, passionate & loud philosophical discussions

    Family interests; sports, football, tennis, music, water sports (fishing, snorkelling) craft. Happy to share large collection of instruments, wetsuits, snorkel gear, bikes. Maybe chance to play/train in local team

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    GUESTHOUSE BUSINESS - clean to High standard/Attention to detail. Helpers will be required to do this work, it has priority. See website
    Maybe stopping this business soon.

    BUILDING - Functional person who can swing a hammer & practical hands:)

    GARDEN always needs love

    GENERAL HELP, FEEDING PETS, COOKING, helping around home and farm, some cleaning.

    HORSES - Are pleasure only not "work". Very friendly, gently, naturally handled -see the difference. Brony's passion, has own horses for 40+ years & has natural way to interact. Nothing in their mouth, no discomfort or resistance. Horses are very gentle animals (they are not predators) use gentle approach & communicate with them for better relationship. Trust is made. People make the horse have problems - horses are not born bad. All horses are rescued and love people.
    Before riding Brony to see you interact as they're not riding school robots. If you don't know how to saddle, rug, have only ridden in arenas, you are not experienced. Sorry due to ill health, can not give lessons.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Greek, learning French,

  • Accommodation


    Private room, warm, clean - shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    INTERNET - limited. No downloads. Not suited to someone who needs to have hours everyday. We would rather get to know who is living with us than have someone always on the net or texting on phone.

    WATER - we have independant natural water supply so MUST minimise usage. One short shower per day, 3 mins. Minimise laundry etc.

    MOBILE PHONE COVERAGE - TELSTRA or OPTUS. Phones wvith BLUE TICK(rural use) or Iphones best for country areas. Other networks maybe cheaper but not cheap if doesn't work.

    ALCOHOL - Bring Your Own, we don't have money to buy alcohol for everyone;) We may offer when we have one and expect you return the favour. Alcohol is expensive in Australia. We live a very simple, humble life. We are NOT rich people, our wealth is our lifestyle.

    It helps you be successful with hosts if you give lots of info on your profile and email;
    Perhaps you have no farm experience, hosts understand this.
    What do you do in the real world, how can you help your host?
    What hobbies and interests do you have?
    Why do you want to stay with that host?
    What dates are you available?
    Family info, etc.
    Good to use the reference system, good or bad. If you have a good experience let the host know you appreciated them and let other helpers know it's a good place. If its not good, let the hosts know so they can make changes and also let other helpers know of possible problems.
    Keep it true and factual and not personal attacks
    Other hosts can see you have taken time to do this which shows respect and also what sort of experiences you have.

    The negative feedback is from a spammer who never stayed here. They contacted many hosts also with another program and it was spam.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 30 hours per week

My Photo Album

View from one of the bedrooms
Both wood and gas stoves
Pool Room
Living room
Sun going down
My outside laundry
The Beachhouse, you can't get much closer to the beach! Great place to work:)
On top of Mount Wellington, Hobart, on a clear day you can see forever
Gone fishing
Another day trip to Mount Field National Park
Anni and Sophie enjoy a quiet moment
Full moon, taken from our home
A day out, to the most southern point of Australia, Cockle Creek
Ali, the prince! He was born on our land so had him his whole life, he loves people.
Fresh oysters, right out the front of our home
Going snorkelling, we provide wetsuits, gear etc
Leila, the most gentle soul, just like Nanny in Peter Pan
Tranquility right at the door step
please rub my belly
Charlie the true gentleman
Making fresh gnocci
Getting fresh oysters
Relaxing in front of the fire
Tasmanian Kangaroo:)
Baking day
Sunrise, no photoshop or special camera needed here.
Juno, The main man
The Frenchies go fishing MMM ,what's for dinner
Juno the baby sitter, all 75 kg! No child could be safer
As the sun goes down - no photoshop needed, just natural beauty
At the end of the rainbow

Host ref number: 18791554324c