Welcome to an old farm in beautiful souroundings

Favourited 1186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    66  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    852

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers, and welcome to our farm. I am Konstanse, I am 23 years old, and I am the 12th generation inherating this old property. I live here with my mother, Anne Helene, and our family goes back a long time on the farm, so we are proud to keep it for the comming generations. The family used to be bigger, but my siblings are now moving on studying, or working.
    There is no longer a production of milk or meat on the farm, so we no longer live from the land, and the farm. Both of us «take turns» having extra jobs outside the farm in addition to taking care of the property. For a few weeks a year we offer our «Green Care» services to old and young in the area. “Green care” refers to individually adapted and quality-assured welfare services on farms. The services shall stimulate coping skills, development and well-being. Because of this we also keep some different animals.
    I grew up meeting a lot of people from different countries and cultures around the world, when my mother had people staying here through different exchange and volunteer programs. I learned a lot form these expeiences, and we speak English fluently. Because of this, we have lots experience in making the guests time with us as interesting and fun as possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    On a property like this there is a lot projects to keep the farm in a proper condition, and we are happy if you would lend us a helping hand, and share our experiences.
    In the winter we go to the forest to get some firewood for the next winter, witch we cut and chop in the spring.
    In the summer, we paint and maintain the houses. We have a big fruit- and berry garden. We try to pick and preserve it for the next winter.
    The small animals, also needs being attended to. We also have a horse.
    Living busy lives, and being outside on the property most of the time, we would love to have someone help us in the house.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ The most important thing for us – because there usually will be several Workawayers staying with us – is that you are a social person, a team player. Somebody that can do things individually if they have to, but also realises they are part of a group of people that likes to spend time together. It’s a big plus if you play an instrument – and bring it :-)

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a workawayer with us, you will learn about norwegian coocking, and traditional celebrations. You will learn som handcraft, and how we use the mouintain in farming. We will do what we can to help you experience the local souroundings.

    If you come in the winter, we will teach you how to skii, and you are welcome to spend a Norwegian christmas with us.

    You will meet, and learn from other workawayers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and english (Anne Helene some german, and Thea some spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a few possibilities here:
    • A room in the hosts house, sharing the toilet with the family. The shower is located in another building.
    • A room in the second house, sharing the toilet with the family. The shower is located in another building.
    • A small, one room, traditional cabin with two beds, sharing the toilet with the family. The shower is located in another building. It is a very quiet and cosy cabin with a 'green' roof and it lies just a few meters from the main house. Perfect for nature lovers.

    There is a high probability that you have to share a room with another Workawayer. In all cases you are sharing household with the family.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Because rooms are sometimes for short periods used for B&B, it depends on the situation what possibilities are available, you might also have to change room during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lillehammer (the 1994 Olympic city, and youth Olympics host city in 2016) is a 15 minute bus ride away (bus stops 200 meters from the farm). We are close to a lot of winter sports activities and it takes about 2,5 hours to drive to Oslo (the capitol of Norway). There is a lot of beautiful nature around us (we have bicycles, skis and a kick sledge available). The "Langsau" national park is close by. Shop/Post office is approx. 1 kilometer away.

    We enjoy both Norwegian food traditions, as well are we curious to learn more about foreign food traditions that new workers bring to our home. Vegetarian food is something that we also have learned much about throughout the years.

    If you are interested, I have built up a broad network from various jobs and can be helpful with providing you the information you need in order to try to get paid work. In the past I’ve also been enjoying volunteering as a refugee guide.

    If you are a student, you should bring your student ID. There might be discount on public transport in Norway.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    In return for board and lodging we expect 25 hours per week (approx. 5 hours a day). We like to look at it in a flexible way, so if you want to make more hours one day and less the other, that's an option. Please keep in mind that this should be a win-win

My Photo Album

WW's and some of the family, august 2016
WW's and some of the family, june 2016
WW's evening, when not playing ball outside, summer 2014.
The ideal summer for everyone - both on two and four legs ;-)
An overwiewpicture of the mouintainfarmarea
From the farm museum
The house for the older generation built in 1966. A new appartment is being built in the basement
The garden cabin
The mainhouse, thimber originally from 1666, with an appartment
an old house for foodstorage is now the farm museum
The farm from the air










































Host ref number: 166361988842