Volunteer on a dairy farm near Luzern -

Favourited 588 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


Contact Register


  • Description


    We are a young-ish couple who live in a large farm house in a small (tiny) town in Switzerland. Urs is a dairy farmer who recently gave up his office job to work on the farm full-time. Urs bought the farm from his parents a few years ago, but his dad Franz, still helps out by working almost full-time as well. Urs loves to go mountain Biking, learn about Investment strategies, go on ski tours and rock climb.

    I (Nadja) am the Marketing Manager at Thermomix Switzerland. If you do not yet know what the Thermomix is, you will be sure to find out as he is my BEST friend in the kitchen! After a long day at the office I'm happy to come home and enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains. I love the peaceful feeling of the countryside and think it's the perfect balance to the hectic work life we all live. I also love to rock climb! Between the two of us I am definitely the more creative person in our household. I love to try all sorts of craft projects and have started a natural soap business. I have triple citizenship (Canadian, Swiss & Australian) and I also teach English from time to time! For me there are always too few hours in every day!

    Franz and Emilia (Urs' mom) live in a small, new chalet near the main farm house. If you stay with us, you'll surely get to have the pleasure of visiting them for a meal from time to time. Although Franz and Emilia do not speak any English, they are always very eager to learn and will love to hear all about your traveling experiences.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    Volunteering depends on the time of year and on the projects that are going on. This could involve helping with chores, farm work, building, fire wood, cleaning etc...

    If you're physically fit, easy-going, willing to try hard and are positive, we'd love to have you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, a bit of French

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in your own, cozy room in the main farm house. Our laundry room has a shower and toilet for you to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -We would love it if you want to stay with us, but don't look at your stay as a free vacation. It's a working holiday and we expect you to work 25 hours per week. Well, you shouldn't look at workawaying as work anyways... it's an experience!

    -We are pretty flexible about the work hours.

    -It's all about give and take at Birkenhof! The more you give us the more you will receive.

    - Urswil is close to a lake, the beautiful city of Lucerne, mountains, and castles. In your free time you can walk, bike, swim in the lake, explore, shop or do anything else you happen to feel like. We'll gladly help you with ideas, tips and suggestions.

    - I don't usually come home for lunch, so for lunch you'll eat at Emilia and Franz's house or even get to enjoy Urs' cooking skills. In the evening you will eat dinner with us when Urs is done his chores (approx. 7:00 PM). I also like to bake, so you'll never be short of food.

    -We've been getting a lot of couples and friends asking to workaway for us, unfortunately we only host one workawayer at a time.

    -Quite often projects come up short-notice and therefore we can't always plan ahead. If you're ready and able to come and help us immediately, please always ask, even if we're not on the last-minute list.

    -No one at Birkenhof smokes, so ideally you are also a non-smoker.

    -We have a bike available for our workawayers.

    -Although we live on a farm, we don't have any pets in the house.

    -Both Urs and I have done a fair bit of traveling, so we can't wait to hear all about your experiences and adventure.

    - The nearest Airport is Zürich

    - The nearest train station is Ballwil- We will pick you up here if you give us the details.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs/week

My Photo Album

Urs is staying cool in the hammock under the tree
Your room!
This is your room!
Your hosts!
The Swiss Alps
Beautiful view
Franz and Emilia's House
Our fram house and barn
Winter Wonderland
View from the farm

Host ref number: 12961365614d