URGENT! SINGLE WORKAWAYER REQUIRED. Help required with moving furniture & refurnishing a cottage in County Durham

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    341

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    URGENT! 11th-18th March 2019. SINGLE TRAVELLER

    Barnard Castle area, County Durham

    We are Philippa and Allan, a sociable, well-travelled and fun couple in our 50s (now semi-retired: We run a business from home part-time and Philippa does some acting) We have a house in France where we have hosted workawayers for the past 6 years (and have kept in touch with a number of them) but are now looking for help in County Durham, UK with redecoration/refurnishing our cottage. This will involved some lifting and carrying of furniture. Fixed dates for this workaway are 11th-18th March 2019

    We have rented another place nearby so we can stay there in comfort whilst we are sorting out our own cottage. You will have your own bedroom and full facilities, including TV and Wifi etc. All meals are privided of course. We are ideally looking for a fit , single person, who can help with lifting and carrying furniture, as well as other tasks. We've met some fabulous people via Workaway and think it's a great scheme.

    We are looking for volunteer help for around 5 hours per day, 5 days per week (Flexible) You will be fed well. Allan loves cooking and we tend to go for home-made meals rather than processed stuff. However, we are unable to cater for strict vegetarians or vegans.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!

    PS We don't normally dress up in strange garb! (re pic) We put on a Murder Mystery whilst we had workawayers with us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    County Durham is a beautiful area. There are lots of places to visit, and Barnard Castle is the nearest town which is a delight to explore. We are happy to drop you at bus or train stations or take you out and about. We enjoy socialising, pub quizzes and good conversation over a glass of wine.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally we are looking for a fit, healthy and strong workawayer. There will be some furniture shifting and carrying so we do need someone fit and able, with strength to do those kinds of jobs. There's also cleaning and painting/decorating to do and general maintenance tasks.

    We are looking for a sociable and friendly workawayer who has some previous work experience.
    We like practically minded people (prefer aged 23+) who don't mind getting 'stuck in' and can use their own initiative and have a 'can do' attitude in helping unsupervised. Whilst we are happy to host people from any nationality, we would ask that your English is of a good standard. We always appreciate help with usual household chores too :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have rented a cottage nearby for the period of the workaway, where we will stay together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Loads of stuff to do and places to see. This is an area rich in heritage and stunning countryside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)








Host ref number: 119977536333