Sage

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2017 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Sage:) In 2017 I finished a 26 month service for the US Peace Corps in Uganda, East Africa. As a reward to myself for completing this difficult, yet extremely fulfilling, service I am engaging in a bit of long term travel. I'm not in a mad rush to see 12 countries in 12 months, my goal is to spend quality time in just a few places and really connect with some locals along the way. First stop was India where I concentrated on absorbing the many varied cultures and spent two weeks volunteering at a wonderfully social hostel. Next was Nepal where I volunteered on three family farms, including five weeks with my new Nepalese family whom I hope to see again. In Thailand I had an amazing time helping a young family set up their new farm and assisting an online Fair Trade business with their website. In Myanmar I concentrated on absorbing their beautiful, untouched culture and seeing as much of the country as I could in 28 days. Next I volunteered with an animal rehabilitation project in Malaysian Borneo where I was reminded about the importance of taking care of this beautiful earth and all of its creatures. In Indonesia I spent a couple of weeks on an organic coconut farm where I learned how to make coconut oil from scratch. So cool! Then it was back to Malaysian Borneo for a couple of weeks deep in the jungle with an inspiring couple trying to protect their ancestral lands from the threat of nearby logging projects.
    When I finally reached the Philippines I had experienced enough different cultures to know that my instant connection wasn't just a fad. I'm in love! I never want to leave. I arrived in Zamboanga City via ferry from Malaysian Borneo. I have been to Bohol, Leyte, Samar and now Luzon. I have spent my time between touring this stunning country, visiting organic farms, and volunteering. I plan to continue traveling and volunteering until I find a place, a situation, that I just cannot leave. I WILL live in the Philippines, it's just a matter of finding my next project.

    And so I continue my volunteering. I am most interested in spending time working the soil and increasing my permagardening/organics knowledge. I have a horticulture degree from University as well as permagardening training as part of my Peace Corps service. When it comes to working with my hands I'm game to share what knowledge I have and hopefully learn a few things along the way.
    I am also incredibly interested in the tourism industry and would like to spend some time learning the ropes there as well. I have experience in hospitality, from waitressing and bartending to event planning and coordination. As a people person I am able to talk to/find common ground with pretty much anyone!
    In my travels I have also become intrigued by local building techniques. I am game to lend a hand with whatever building projects you may have.
    I love to cook and to share food with friends.
    I am incredibly social, I love meeting and learning about people from all over the world, but I also very much enjoy solitary time.
    I am an on again/off again practicer of yoga.
    I have a burning curiosity about Buddhism and the sikh religions.
    I am fascinated by ayurvedic and Chinese medicines.
    I love anything to do with being outdoors from camping/backpacking to paddling to adventure sports. If it is practiced in the outdoors, I'm in!
    My career background is in non-profit management and program/event/volunteer coordination.
    I taught business basics to farmers in Uganda, from record keeping to saving/budgeting towards a goal.
    Thank you for your interest, perhaps our paths shall cross one day and we can share stories. Until then, stay well my friend! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    University degree in horticulture with a minor in business.
    Career in start-up non-profits including program/volunteer/event management.
    Permagardening training with the US Peace Corps.
    Hands on organic gardening experience.
    Business, computer, and social media capabilities.
    People person capable of getting along with just about anyone.
    Experience working with and training people of different cultures and socio-economic levels.
    A thirst for knowledge, experience, and discovering new things.
    Ability to work independently, as a part of a group, or as a leader of a group.
    As a Peace Corps Volunteer I learned the art of making do with what you have, being creative to get where you want to go, and skill sharing for the sustainability of projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English (fluently) and Luganda (haltingly) and bits and pieces from every country I've traveled because sharing languages is fun!

  • Age

    40

  • Nationality

    United States of America

  • What else ...

    I am an open book. If there is something you wish to know about me, please ask! :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback