Nanna Naomi

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2018 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there :-)
    I'm Naomi and I'm being brave.

    I believe that's a key, to the life, I want to live.
    Bravery is key to my adventure around the world alone, key to relying on the new people I meet, key to embracing the new food, new cultures and new aspects of life I'll experience.
    It takes bravery to learn new skills, by being unafraid of the mistakes that come with practice.
    It takes bravery to be vulnerable, to ask for help, to share myself and let others in.
    I need your help, your guidance, your company, your challenges and work to challenge my bravery, make me grow as a person and push myself forward in life.

    I'm a 22 year old danish girl traveling solo around Australia since September 2018. Since planning isn’t really my thing I’ll get wherever life brings me and experience exactly what I need to.
    I've spent sometime volunteering a Yoga Retreat in the Blue Mountains and in an Eco Village in Daintree Rainforest as well as hitchhiking, couchsurfing and winging my way along the Australian east coast coast in between the two.

    I grew up in a small danish town called Køge with two parents and a younger sister.
    From a young age I was a well-reflected, observant and calm kid, rarely ever upset and very imaginative.
    Since I was a chubby kid my parents signed me up for KidsVolleyball when i was six years old. That turned out to be lifechanging and I've played ever since. Over the years i also played with the youth, junior and senior national team.
    I always loved singing and drawing/painting, but never really followed that love during my school years, since volleyball took a lot of my time, but I did manage to be part of two musicals and do some extra classes in creative writing.
    I finished school 2 years ago and then spent half a year at a danish Højskole, became vegetarian, did courses in outdoor living, music, singing, writing, selfdevelopment, filosophy and life in general. I then spontaniously moved away from home to live in the next largest danish city - Aarhus.
    The past 1.5 years I've spent enjoying life and good company, playing elite and national team volleyball, working at a nursing home, living with 15 other youngsters, walking in the woods, drawing and singing in the shower.

    Now is my time to travel and be comepletely lost and alone and to realise more of my potential.

    I would love to learn more about yoga, meditation, music and art, better my kitchen skills, understanding and relationship with food, develop better skills at physical work like gardening, building or construction work, but most importantly just learning about other ways of life, than the most common danish ones.

    And even more importantly, I'm exited to meet new people, make friends and have a good time.
    I hope I'll see you out there!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm good at using my body. Years of elite volleyball means I'm psychically strong and in good contact with and control of my limbs. Over the years I've done a bit of climbing, archery and kayaking, but when it comes to more work-related ways of using the body, I'll have to admit, I'm quite green - I've spent most of my life on the school bench.
    On that bench I was a fast learner with a talent for most classes, interest for most subjects and both very teachable but also good at teaching and helping others.
    For more than a year I've worked at a nursing home. I have a very strong care-instinct and am good at communicating and working with others.
    I love kids and child care is a joy for me. I was a nanny in my neighborhood growing up and enjoy playing, being creative, being active and just being silly with kids.
    I have some experience in cleaning and housekeeping as well, having done this at the nursing home and a as a vacation replacement for the housekeeper at my Højskole during their yearly weeks of summer-school. Here in Australia I've done some housekeeping and especially bed making at an Eco Village in Daintree Rainforest and a hostel in Cairns.
    I can cook vegetarian meals. I'm not experienced in cooking for a lot of people, but enjoy cooking for myself, friends and family. I did some kitchen work at a yoga retreat in the Blue Mountains when I first got here, but since I was only assisting the chef my job was mainly following orders and not being responsible for the meals.
    For a couple of years I had casual work as event staff and I have also done some work at a coffee house. I'm costumer and team oriented and a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to creating a good experience for people.
    I'm quite okay at singing, drawing and painting, photography and can do a bit of photo editing.
    I'm ready to learn by doing, I'm diligent, ready to fail and get up again, and I know practice, cooperation and teamwork goes a hell of a long way.

    REFERENCES:
    Happy Buddha Yoga Retreats (I volunteered there for 4 weeks in September 2018)
    ph: 02 8540 6513, ask for the founder Athill
    Daintree Crocodylus Eco Village (I volunteered there for 3 weeks in October/November 2018)
    ph: 07 4098 9166, ask for the owner Sally
    Globertrotters International (I volunteered there for 1.5 weeks in December 2018)
    ph: 0419 744 431, ask for the owner Brian

  • Languages spoken

    Danish, English and a little German

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • What else ...

    I love being outdoors, active, using my body, building and testing my own strength.
    I love cozy evenings, playing boardgames, good conversations, stargazing and bonfires.
    I love singing, dancing and laughing.
    I love immersing myself fully into something and watching the results of my own efforts.
    I love learning new skills, growing, being usefull, helping others, creating and being part of a community.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback