• United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (6)

ID verified
Top Workawayer

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    Activities i am interested in:

    Active, vegan, animal lover, adventurer.
    On the road since 2019, focusing on slow, meaningful travel.

    My next destination:

    Australia - from Aug 2023 until Dec 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I’m Ellie, 25, from England and have been on the road since graduating uni in 2019 (essentially just avoiding serious adult life!). My first stop was Germany, to improve my language skills, but since then I’ve hopped about all over Europe volunteering in many different places – primarily animal shelters and sanctuaries.

    I’m currently in Australia, planning to travel about and volunteer with my boyfriend, Cam (see connected workaway profile), and his dog, Chedz. She’s an easy-going rescue dog and is very used to being around different people and animals.

    Working with animals is where I have most experience and interest, but I’ve also done a big mix of other workaway projects – eg, building mud houses in Bulgaria, au pairing for young kids in an un-schooling family in Germany and working on an organic vegetable farm in Turkey. I find it particularly valuable to work in community-based settings with other like-minded people, but I am very laid back and always adapt easily. I am passionate about living a well-balanced, healthy vegan lifestyle, but I’m open to everything and always keen to learn.

  • Interests

    Adventure sports
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Vegetarian or vegan
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Always keen to practice German - and happy to help with your English too of course!

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I come from a big family and am therefore used to a noisy, happy, full house – be that with kids, animals or just a large community of volunteers. From dogs and cats to squirrels and degus, I have grown up around animals at home and am not at all afraid of getting stuck in and helping out. I also have lots of experience with children (including those with additional needs) from volunteering at children’s summer camps in Germany when I was still a student.
    Skills-wise I’ve done a bit of everything along the way with Workaway. I love being outdoors doing physical work and am quick to adapt to new environments and pick up new skills. My degree is in Microbiology, though I’m yet to use it... For now I’m perfectly content travelling about and have since become an ambassador and freelance writer for Workaway.

  • Age


  • What else ...

    Currently in Australia (WA) - in the process of buying a camper van with my boyfriend to start our next adventure!


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements




Competition photos