• Australia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Top Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy


    Mi próximo destino:

    New Zealand
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi! I’m Bill. I am 61 but still very active. I lived the first 27 years of my life in England, and then migrated to Australia. Dual citizen. I am retired from careers as an Automotive Engineer and then a Software Developer. I probably do match the stereotype for these professions … so, I am thoughtful, considerate, caring, intelligent, humourous, tidy, respectful, honest, calm, gentle, quiet, not very social, a good listener not a big talker. I plan, make lists, like to get things done. Quite comfortable in my own company. I’m up for a planned adventure, but I’m not a thrill-seeker. I enjoy being physically active (even in my office days I always commuted by bike, went to the gym, played sport) and try to do 2 hours exercise a day (usually walking or cycling) when not working in the outdoors. I eat lots at meal times, but generally don't bother with tea breaks. I could easily live on a vegetarian diet, but I do eat meat.

    I don't smoke, drink or do drugs, and don't drink tea or coffee.

    I follow many sports, particularly the cycling grand tours.

    The last 11 years I have been a nomad in Australia, living in my self-built campervan, staying and helping on friends' properties/ sheep farms. And doing a lot of volunteer work, mostly with BlazeAid (helping farmers after bushfires), mostly doing fencing. I do like fencing, and am experienced enough to take on most things now. I am also very much a handyman, self taught (with some grandfather influence) but pretty capable. I like fixing things and being resourceful, but I have no trade qualifications. Note: i don't do gardening, and avoid uisng chainsaws unless they are battery powered.

    I went to New Zealand just before covid arrived, and stayed for 2 1/2 years doing WorkAway for almost the entire time. Got back to Australia in March 2022 and revived the campervan!

    I have no interest in social media and don’t do facebook.

    I use Signal rather than What'sApp.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Principiante

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I am very practical and enjoy making or fixing things. I have no trade qualifications, but i can do woodwork, metalwork, painting, decorating, electrical, plumbing. I have built cars, steel sheds, wooden sheds, put up shelves, saved an old wooden barn, installed small solar systems. Haven't built a house yet but would like to. But I'm most practised at farm fencing.

  • Edad


  • Algo más...

    I do the occasional crossword and more frequently sudoku. Maybe a jigsaw on a rainy day. Watch TV when available.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      No, but I do eat lots when working hard! Wholegrain bread, fruit and cereal are great fillers for me.