Experience beautiful nature with our huskies, near Storslett, North-Norway

Country

Noruega

actualizado  

215 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple who live in Northern Norway, above the Arctic Circle, about 3.5 hours drive north of Tromsø in a valley called Reisadalen. We have a small kennel of 18 Alaskan huskies, two cats and a flock of hens of various breeds. I, Sanja, train the dogs for, and take part in, long distance sled dog races. Markus is more happy in activities like going ice-fishing on the mountains with the dogs :)

    We live in the middle of the nature and there is a lot to do for an active person. We are looking for a person/a couple who is responsible, positive, independent, love animals and outdoor life. Hopefully you also have some practical skills. We can offer a place to live, food and lots of quality time with the dogs. Driving license may come useful, because we live about 20 km from the town, Storslett.

    The main thing we need help with is with the dogs. Training and taking care of them is very rewarding, but also very time consuming. We both work full time, so help with the animals is very welcome. Tasks consists of feeding the dogs, helping with the training, dog yard cleaning and maintenance, building new dog houses, taking care of the chickens, etc. Possibly also some help in the house.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In the area, Norwegian, Sami and Kven (Finnish ancestry) cultures are present. You'll get an insight into the Norwegian-Finnish everyday life where dogs play a major part.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I train the dogs year around, but sometimes in summer (May-August) it's too warm. Training trips are short. This is time for building dog houses and for maintenance of equipment. Dogs enjoy running loose in the dog yard, and going for a swim. The chickens need to be taken care of, and there may be a building project going on, as well as some gardening.

    In autumn and winter (September-March), I train the dogs a lot. The main task then is the dog training, feeding, cleaning the dog yard and shoveling snow. Also some cleaning in the house, or cooking, if you like. In spring (April-May) there are many relaxing trips to the mountains with ice-fishing and cooking coffee on open fire.

    The dogs diet consists of raw meat among other things so you have to be able to handle this. We on the contrary are quite flexible with our diet so vegetarians are welcome, as long as you're bit flexible as well, and help to cook. Note that 'special products' for your diet may not be available here, or can be rather expensive.

    We hope that you meet the following 'criteria':
    - One month minimum stay, preferably more
    - Some prior experience with animal care
    - Have a genuine interest in the dogs and long distance dog sledding!
    - Like to be out in all kinds of weather
    - Good physical shape
    - Responsible, flexible
    - You must be a self-starter

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is available in a hut across the dog yard. Shower, toilet and meals shared with us. Suitable for one person, or a couple.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Airport here is called Sørkjosen, and has flights to/from Tromsø. Or you can take a buss to/from Tromsø or Alta.

    The town, Storslett, has a cinema, museum, restaurants, a bakery, supermarkets, and several other shops.

    In summer, you can for instance take a riverboat safari in the national park, fish, hike, bike, enjoy the midnight sun and the birds singing, sit outside and watch the chickens, have a fire and enjoy the nature. In autumn, you can pick berries and mushroom.

    In winter, you can go skiing (both cross country and ski touring, or ski with the dogs), ice-fishing, go on a moose safari (free, just around the house!) or whale safari, enjoy the northern lights, or sit outside and make a fire.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 721742515188