Help around our family home and garden while enjoying outdoor activities in Sandspit, Canada

  • 13 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 5 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are a couple with a toddler who are looking for some help around our home and garden in Sandspit, Haida Gwaii, British Columbia. We have an acre of land with a large garden, milking goats, ducks and a dog. We are looking for help with the yard and garden, and also help with building projects. We are just finishing our house so there is still a lot of carpentry to be done, for anyone who has some building skills!

    We do have a toddler, so this is probably not a good place to stay if you don't like young children!

    The town of Sandspit is very small and the focus is on outdoor activities and enjoying nature. We do a lot of boating, hiking, trail running, hunting, fishing, and other outdoor activities, and we are happy to take you along and make you part of our family activities. Depending on your skills and interests we can also provide access to a truck, bikes, kayaks, canoes, paddleboard, etc.

    We are new to Workaway but we have a lot of previous experience hosting volunteers through a tourism business we used to run, and we had many positive experiences, so we feel great about welcoming Workaway volunteers into our family. We would ask for about 20 hours of work each week.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can use our home as a base to explore Haida Gwaii and learn about the local culture, including the Haida First Nations culture. This is also a great place to learn some hands-on skills about organic gardening, building projects, or animal care.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our current projects include:
    Carpentry (finishing trim in our house, or rougher carpentry like building garden trellises)
    Garden soil building (shovelling goat manure, compost)
    Goat care/milking (if you are interested in learning)
    Building a greenhouse

    We have lots of projects for anyone who enjoys physical tasks and has some experience using tools. We would mostly help together on projects so that we can explain things as we go.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a tiny home on the property where you can stay. It has a full kitchen and bathroom, and a bedroom with a queen bed. Another person could sleep on the couch/floor if necessary. We could take single people, couples, or families. Friends traveling together are also welcome but someone might have to sleep on the couch. We would be happy to share all meals in our big house, or you can do some cooking on your own if you prefer. We will provide food. We would appreciate help with some basic tasks around the house like helping with some cooking and cleaning, but this wouldn't be a big part of the help. We eat well with lots of local foods, wild meats and fish, and garden produce.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are about 5 minutes walk from the Sandspit airport which is the main airport on Haida Gwaii, so it's easy to get to our place!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Internet on Haida Gwaii is usually good enough for watching netflix etc. most of the time, but the islands are connected to the mainland backbone through a radio link so it can slow down significantly if there is very heavy use throughout the islands. Our connection to the Island network is fibre to the house so our internet will be as fast as it is anywhere, but it is limited to 60G/month.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a fenced yard with ducks in it, any pets need to be good with poultry.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 20 hours/week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 667452218988

Comentarios (1)

Comentarios


Simple, mindful wilderness living in off-grid self-reliant nature paradise near Vancouver, BC, Canada
Se voluntario en nuestra granaja, se parte de nuestra comunidad y conoce estas hermosas montañas de Northumberland, Ontario