actualizado  

Creating an oasis for biodiversity on our land and enjoy sustainable living in Askeby, Denmark

  • 39 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE MAY 2024: We´re looking for volunteers from week 22 (May 27th onwards) 2024.

    Please note that we're only hosting workaways travelling as couples.

    Since 2019 we have been working towards transforming our piece of land into a sanctuary for both people, animals and plants. The dream is to create an oasis for biodiversity alongside growing our own food in our large garden. We aim for a mix of permaculture, regenerative gardening, no dig, and biodynamic principles, and we're very keen on recycling and upcycling. Sustainability is a word often used here. But we we don't just talk about it, we most often walk the talk.

    We believe it´s safe to say that our mandala garden is the largest circular vegetable garden in Denmark. The round form was chosen as a way of honoring the fact that everything in life is cyclical - this might give you a hint of the way our minds work. We're trying to live a fairly simple life close to and connected with nature, and we're spending a lot of time outdoors.

    We're still in the proces of creating the framework for selfsufficiency and a meaningful life in the countryside, which means we have lots of smaller building projects lined up as well as large and small projects regarding the various parts of the garden. Alongside the vegetable garden we also have a big cutflower garden, a raspberry patch, and a couple of greenhouses. We store most of our produce in a root cellar, but we also sell surplus in our little roadside shop which has become quite popular among the locals and tourists passing by. This little shop is managed by Lotte's mother who also is very skilled at producing jam, pickles etc. Workaways will not be expected to take part in any tasks relating to this business activity - only in the production for our own consumption.

    We are Lotte (aged 48 and with a background in botany and nature therapy and now studying herbalism) and Torben (aged 51 - working with addicts and also trained in nature therapy) plus Lotte's mother, Anette (aged 75 - retired nurse, very active in the garden) living here in two tinyhouses. We share the place with three cats, a handful of Indian runner ducks (our slug patrol) and a herd of chickens - and of course all kinds of wildlife in terms of insects, birds, bats, hedgehogs, amphibians, deer, hares, and the occacional fox.

    It's a place that attracts a lot of people, so often we have guests dropping by, both friends, family and people we haven't met before.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're happy to share our knowledge about gardening, plants, green food, sustainability, recycling, bee keping, keeping poultry etc. If you want, we can practise Danish with you as well.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We're looking for a couple.

    While staying with us you'll both be expected to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week - or 25 hours total pr person that can be arranged in different ways if it makes more sense at various times. We can be flexible about which days you're working. Most projects will be outdoors, but on very rainy days we'll try to adapt to the weather.

    We'll often be working alongside you or as a minimum give you good instructions so everyone feels comfortable with the tasks at hand. Expect to get in close contact with soil and plants. Bring clothes that you don't mind getting dirty. We'll provide gloves.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Swedish: Intermedio
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    While staying with us you'll have your own tiny-house, fully equipped with bedroom/livingroom, kitchen, and bathroom. The tinyhouse is a non-smoking area. If you need to smoke, we kindly ask you to do so outdoors.

    We also offer bicycles for your convenience and will be happy to help you with transportation in other ways if need be.

    Regarding food we'll provide organically grown vegetables from our own garden (it does not get more healthy and fresh than this!), eggs from our chickens (if you guys eat eggs), homemade rye bread, as well as basic staples, spices etc.

    We aim to find a good balance regarding the amount of evening meals shared during the week, but expect to cook your own breakfast and lunch on a daily basis and probably also your own evening meals half of the week.

    We don't have and therefore cannot provide a WiFi connection (we only use our phones ourselves). However in case of important stuff, we can let you use our phones as hotspots.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The place is situated just a short walk from a lovely beach, and a wonderful little harbour, and we have a nice forrest a short drive or bicycle ride from here as well. The island of Møn is well known for its nice hiking routes as well as the large white cliffs along the Eastern shore. Apart from that, be prepared for a mix of farmland, smaller villages and plenty of opportunities for peace and quiet. Møn is the only place in Denmark certified as UNESCO Dark Sky area, which means we get to see the most beutiful night skies here. And if you need a dose of big city vibes, Copenhagen is just a 1h15m drive from our place (though a bit longer by public transport).

    There are various opportunites (especially in the summer) to join yoga classes, qi gong and other activities in the area. And there is also the possibility of getting to know and hang out with other workawayers in the area (mostly in the summer months).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space where you can park your van

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 346979734452

Comentarios (3)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Hygge, garden projects and other hands-on taskss on the beautiful island Bornholm, Denmark
Come and help at our organic farm and become a part of the family in Kerteminde, Denmark