Ric

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2020 - 31/03/2022

  • Badges


  • My status

    At home


    My cycling trip around the world started in Dec. 2019 but was cut short due to the Coronavirus. I started in Spain and within 3 months, had to work up to the U.K. and head back home to Canada.

  • Description

    My name is Ric Moore and I live in Vancouver, BC - a beautiful city on the west coast of Canada.

    My working career has been managing maintenance departments within hospitals and hotels as well as being a residential property manager.

    My previous major travels include cycle touring in Europe, U.K., Vietnam & Laos and trekking in New Zealand.

    I took a 4 month sabbatical in 2014 which included climbing Tanzania's Kilimanjaro.
    I then became a Workaway on a vineyard in central Portugal for 6 weeks followed up by 4 weeks working on a home / retreat renovation in Salema, Portugal.

    I formally retired in Dec 2019 and my plans were to travel Europe and the U.K. for approximately 1 year. I worked 2 weeks on a Workaway site in Tarifa, Spain - but due to the Coronavirus, I had to return to Canada.

    I am in excellent shape and I am willing to work on physical projects as well as maintenance, gardening and teaching English along with anything else that is thrown at me. I have had extensive training in customer and guest relations while working in a large hotel in Vancouver.

    An article I wrote for my local newspaper after my Workaways in 2014:

    Workaway Scheme is Just the Ticket for Budget Travellers
    RIC MOORE, FOR THE VANCOUVER SUN 08.07.2014

    My sister and brother-in-law volunteered to cover for me at work while I took a four-month
    sabbatical to climb Tanzania's Mount Kilimanjaro and following that, a five-day safari with
    my daughter to the Serengeti.
    My daughter flew back home and I continued on to Porto, Portugal, where I stayed for three days
    to unwind and mail my heavy climbing gear back home.
    I then took a train to Nelas, a small town in central Portugal, to work on a vineyard -
    - I was going to become a Workaway.

    I discovered the Workaway website from travel blogs and thought it would be a great way to
    learn about another country - the people and their language, food, culture, economy and history,
    without spending a great deal. After posting a profile of myself, I sent requests to a number of
    hosts and I chose a vineyard in Portugal.

    Workaway hosts are found in most countries throughout the world and I picked one in Europe
    as I was eventually going to tour Italy in my fourth month with a friend.

    I couldn't have picked a better host for my first Workaway site as I was provided with my own
    bedroom within a separate guest house. My four fellow Workaways and I were served a hearty
    breakfast at 8 a.m. and started work in the fields at nine. We worked from Monday to Friday with
    the weekends free to travel into the local town to shop or visit a pub; I also took a break
    halfway through my six-week stint and visited Porto again for three days.

    Working on the farm had me pruning and raking the vines, building a large garden, constructing
    garden fences and tending sheep. All of the Workaways were encouraged to cook at least one
    meal and we enjoyed eating specialties from our individual countries. The most hazardous part
    of the job was keeping clear of those nasty geese - I was more leery of them than the lions on the Serengeti.

    I found my second Workaway site at a retreat in Salema, which is on the southern tip of Portugal.
    The owner rents her large home to yoga and art class groups and as it was being renovated,
    I spent four weeks painting, cleaning and undertaking minor plumbing and electrical repairs.
    My free time was spent cycling and hiking in the surrounding mountains and relaxing on the beaches.

    Most Workaway sites provide free room and board in exchange for working on their site.
    Owners will require help for multiple reasons such as helping with renovations, shopping,
    caring for children, ESL lessons and cooking for the household. The ages of Workaways are from
    early 20s to singles and couples in their retirement years.

    So if you have a young adult who doesn't know what to do with his or her life besides eating
    you out of house and home, present the websites below to your son or daughter.
    He/she will thank you upon their return after living with people in another country and working
    beside other Workaways from around the world.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Teaching English (not certified)
    Worked in a tourist and hospitality setting
    General Building Maintenance
    Basic computer support
    Writing reports and spreadsheets (English)
    Physical outdoor work
    Gardening

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    72

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I enjoy meeting and talking with people along with learning new languages. I enjoy helping people with their work projects as well as trying anything new.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback