Sinead & Mounir

From: Spain & Palestine

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Palestine

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/04/2019 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Sinead. Im Irish, living in Greece and in Palestine for a couple of weeks learning arabic. My course ends a little earlier than expected so I have nearly two weeks that I would love to spend doing something useful and learning more about Palestine rather than hitting the tourist spots. I dont know if anyone is willing to take a workawayer for such a short period of time but I do hope to be back in the future also!

    I have experience in a variety of contexts including customer service, drama facilitation, work with refugees and other life experiences.

    I am always interested in learning about how things work in different contexts, in different places, cultures, languages, unique projects. I would love to hear from anyone anywhere in Palestine regarding this short time frame (for now!)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    From childhood I worked on my parent´s various businesses including building, agriculture, carpentry and timber machining. As I come from the country I have worked gardening, maintaining and helping my father build our own and others houses as this was his business for many years. For this reason I am well used to hard manual work and long hours and am not afraid of this type of work. I love working outdoors and being able to look at something I have built or made having worked hard to do so. I have various skills in this area and once I am shown how to do something I learn quickly.

    I have minded children all my life and at different stages have worked as a babysitter, au pair, camp councellor and child welfare officer for different posts. I am passionate about working with children of all ages and feel that I bring something unique to this area. My most recent work was babysitting four-year old Indian Veer and seven and three year old Chinese Kevin and Kelly working as a babysitter three evenings a week in Dublin and as an au-pair for three months in China.

    I also have skills in the arts having worked in it from my teenage years and studied for the last four years. I have applied drama facilitation skills and skills I learned when studying theatre to almost every job I have worked at as I have learned invaluable people, networking and leadership skills as a result.

    Please feel free to drop me an email and ask for details for any of the above and any questions you may have about other skills!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Arabic, little Irish and Greek

  • Age

    28 & 29

  • Nationality

    Irish and Palestinian

  • What else ...

    I am really, really interested in the ethos of workaway. I love volunteering my time and skills for worthwhile projects and I have yet to see a hosts work on this website that isn't worthy of dedication. I am hard-working, have high standards and don't see the point of doing a job unless it's done right. I am interested in communal living and in seeing what can be done when people work together and help each other.

    Looking forward to hearing from people. :D

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Very unfussy vegetarian who will happily pick meat out of meals and one who will avoid pork, but again, unfussy!

Photos

On holidays with my host family in Guilinn China - 2013
Playing with my host children as an au pair in China - 2013
Working as a housekeeper with workaway in Estremadura, Spain - 2015
Going for a walk with fellow workawayers in Estremadura, Spain - 2015
Messing around in nature in the countryside of Malaga, Spain - 2014
With extended family and next generation of children in Kilkenny, Ireland - 2013
Mounir and friend - has a thing for tree climbing
Visiting Corinth Canal, Greece 2019
Playing in snow with friends while skiing on Mt. Parnassus, central Greece 2019

Feedback