Kris

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Estonia, France, Latvia, Lithuania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/07/2019 - 25/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    200

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Back home again now.

    Next summer-holidays (2021), bike-walk-camp-volunteer, I will spent in the North of France OR in the Baltic States (Depending on Covid etc.).

    My next Year of Travels will start in July 2022.
    Probably through Switzerland to mainly Slovenia, Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria.
    Or: Ireland, Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia, Orkneys, Scotland, Lake district, and other parts of northern Europe.
    Or: just Scotland.
    (Depending on Covid etc.)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Useful skills for volunteering abroad:
    ° Painting & Decorating.
    Also sketch and paint (decorative) murals and small designs (I like to be involved in Artistic Projects)
    (Self-employed designer/draftsman during 10 years)
    ° Experienced in hand weaving and -tufting.
    ° Party make-up for children.
    ° Active Home-sitting & Animal-sitting.
    ° My all-round skills are okay (See the pictures volunteering for Mountain Bothies)
    ° I have a drivers license (with me).

    * I can give/organize a talk/dialogue about my travels (for free) for your community/neighborhood/friends & family etc...
    (see pictures)

    Long term- volunteering in Belgium:
    - Training-actor for GP's in training.
    - Neighborhood mediator in my hometown
    - Co-operator integration-course.

    Professional:
    Teacher/mentor young newcomers.
    Health-psychologist.

    One of my favorite skills: using things in unexpected ways.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    Belgian (Lived 10 years just over the border, in The Netherlands)

  • What else ...

    If you have PAINTING AND/OR DECORATING-work to be done: contact me!

    I combine Workaway with covering distances on a bicycle.
    Staying in a family for 3 weeks is therefore to long: 7, 10 or 14 days is more realistic for my way of traveling.
    So, because of my rather short stay, it must be clear from the beginning what type of work I can do ... and painting and decorating I can :-)
    I have very good experiences with working in this way. When I was a 'fresh' Workawayer I needed to search for hosts. In this way I could direct the search to painting & decorating. Look at the feedback and you will see people were happy :-) and I was happy too.
    Before my last year of travels, started the situation changed: potential hosts started asking me to come to work. Great ... I thought. But also: 'why exactly do those people want ME to work for them?'
    By now I have had 2 Workaway-experiences, I left with relief.
    So I will go back to the situation in with I know WHY people want me to stay at their property ( because they are in need of a painter/decorater for instance).
    It's also my experiences that when the relationship concerning the work to be done, is fine, it's easier to get a nicer relationship in general. Important when you just stay for 7, 10 or 14 days!

    The reason I started working in this way is to avoid ending up in a situation hosts assumeme I will do the cooking, the household-jobs and the looking after the children (See my gender and age). yes I'm still able to stay on a ladder. Yes i'm rather handy with tools. And I don't like ending up in situations in witch children are looked after by a whole series of Workawayers.

    This is a link to an article, describing my good deed for the year 2020, during my last travels:
    https://www.siracusaoggi.it/siracusa-turista-belga-piazza-segnali-stradali-fai-da-te-non-avete-indicazioni-per-la-ciclabile/?fbclid=IwAR1Wv1tpkyIzDNp6t4ldj4-94N2maErh3ZBqrYZqd0wZwtB2yYlsrI9Ya-8

    This is a link to an article, made by a journalist, during summer-holidays:
    https://www.letelegramme.fr/finistere/morlaix/portrait-de-vacances-une-belge-sur-deux-roues-30-07-2018-12045260.php?fbclid=IwAR1JPAvL6m64tBFeaP7_VNJEPpJgi-MztVLSEapUGWuTy6YuULNzzgBfLDY

    And this was made during my Nordic Trail:
    https://hsfo.dk/oestjylland/Dansk-sommer-er-turistvejr-I-Aarhus-er-turisterne-vilde-med-Aros-og-Den-Gamle-By/artikel/121350

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback