David & Joanne

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello. We are a married couple originally from UK, with a home in Cambridge. We haven't been there for some time though as we spent 2019/20 working, travelling and learning Spanish in Argentina, Colombia and Spain. During the Covid crisis we have based ourselves in rural areas to minimise risk. (2021 update: we have been double vaccinated).

    Our current goal is to continue to improve our Spanish (DJ advanced, JJ intermediate) and we would like to help a company or a family in some way.

    David's work experience includes international business development, language teaching (qualified), and book writing (two travel books published). Jo's experience is in IT and project management. She is also a Callan Method qualified English teacher. Both of us also have considerable experience in hospitality and organising social events. In February 2020 we helped a hotel in Colombia, advised on and helped with their new website, in English and Spanish, and created travel guides for their customers.

    We enjoy outdoor life and all kinds of sport and have been lucky enough to travel to many parts of the world for both business and pleasure (over 100 countries in total).

    We are sociable people with a sense of responsibility (and a sense of humour!) and would like to make a positive contribution to a worthwhile project. We enjoy working, particularly in an organisational capacity, and take a pride in being reliable and punctual. We are non-smokers, we eat all kinds of food and enjoy a glass of wine.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hola. Somos una pareja casada originaria de Reino Unido, con una casa en Cambridge. Sin embargo, no hemos estado allí durante algún tiempo, ya que pasamos 2019/20 trabajando, viajando y aprendiendo español en Argentina, Colombia y España. Durante la crisis de Covid nos hemos basado en zonas rurales para minimizar el riesgo. (2021 actualización: hemos sido doblemente vacunados).

    Nuestro objetivo actual es seguir mejorando nuestro español (DJ avanzado, JJ intermedio) y nos gustaría ayudar a una empresa o una familia de alguna manera.

    La experiencia laboral de David incluye desarrollo de negocios internacionales, enseñanza de idiomas (calificado) y escritura de libros (dos libros de viajes publicados). La experiencia de Jo es en TI y gestión de proyectos. También es profesora de inglés calificada por el Método Callan. Ambos también tenemos una experiencia considerable en hostelería y organización de eventos sociales. En febrero de 2020 ayudamos a un hotel en Colombia, asesoramos y ayudamos con su nuevo sitio web, en inglés y español, y creamos guías de viaje para sus clientes.

    Disfrutamos de la vida al aire libre y de todo tipo de deportes y hemos tenido la suerte de viajar a muchas partes del mundo tanto por negocios como por placer (más de 100 países en total).

    Somos personas sociables con sentido de la responsabilidad (¡y sentido del humor!) Y nos gustaría hacer una contribución positiva a un proyecto. Disfrutamos trabajando, especialmente en la capacidad organizativa, y nos enorgullecemos de ser fiables y puntuales. Somos no fumadores, comemos todo tipo de comida y disfrutamos de una copa de vino.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    David: Qualified English teacher through International House
    and Callan Method Organisation
    International business experience, publishing
    Author
    Company director, charity trustee
    Languages: English (native), Spanish (B2), Portuguese
    French, German (B1)

    Joanne: Project Manager
    Computer (background in IT)
    Qualified English teacher through Callan Method Organisation
    Cooking
    Farm experience (grew up on a farm)
    Languages: English (native), Spanish (A2), German

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    64 & 49

  • What else ...

    Play golf and tennis, regular hikers, skiers, cyclists and try to play chess!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, we eat everything

Feedback


Friends

Feedback