Matthew

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/08/2019 - 31/10/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Matthew. I am a Culinary Institute of America graduate that focused on nutrition and dietary management. I also spent several semesters studying html and web development in addition to closing out my transfer degree. Fast forward a few years and the addition of my son Adam, now six years old, I have gained several years experience in construction.
    I had the opportunity to travel this year (2019) so I followed-up a tremendously successful 2011 three month cycling trip with another less structured four month adventure throughout Europe. Unfortunately I broke my ankle earlier in the year and has led to some complications which will restrict me to predominantly sedentary positions, but rather than spend the winter in front of the television I decided to explore any opportunity I could on a cross-country adventure. Leaving New York the first week of December and will see where the road takes me.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    UPDATE, doctor has resticted me to sedentary work as I recover from a broken ankle. Still very capable and willing to consider any workaways that can accomodate this restriction. Can still help with organizing, computer work, gift wrapping, whatever works.

    Experienced tradesman. I took an apprenticeship right out of high school with a restoration facility that specialized in European sports cars which led me to having a great deal of experience in Automotive Repair/Maintenance
    Well versed in all aspects of restaurant operation including service, line, and internet marketing. Twenty years of experience in restaurants topped off with a degree from The Culinary Institute of America.
    I also worked as a carpenter's apprentice for a little over two years, and renovated houses with a private investor for the past three, so I can navigate a jobsite and have understudied multiple tradesmen throughout the years. Detail oriented and hold myself to a very high standard.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    Entirely flexible on dates. Have yet to put together anything resembling an itinerary. Mainly looking to contribute as much as we can while getting to know great people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cigarette smoke (mildly)

    • Special dietary requirements
      I personally prepare a whole foods plant-based diet for myself but enjoy anything that os prepared for me. Love to share recipes and

Photos

Feedback