Tod

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Malawi - from Jan 2023 until Mar 2023
    View all
  • Description

    My interests are as varied as my experiences. To begin with I live in Haines, Alaska and have done so for about 40 years. For 5 years prior to that I lived in the Alaska bush in the interior. My trade for much of my life has been a Heavy Equipment Mechanic and I was one of 3 finalists for the job of Hydraulic Technician for the space shuttle. This trade made it possible to take jobs at remote bases in Antarctica for 4 seasons, work on the North Slope Oil Fields on the edge of the Beaufort Sea in Alaska, gold mining, and for the past 15 years I have been owner / operator of my own 50 foot, 28 passenger tour boat and hold a 100 ton captains license with a commercial towing endorsement. This is a seasonal business that gives me the freedom to travel and explore this small blue planet during our off season. Most winters I embark on a long solo bicycle trip somewhere and have since bicycled Cuba, Madagascar, Vietnam, and in 2019 bicycled Tunisia for 3 months. I truly enjoy meeting and getting to know people from all over the world and learning about their culture as well as sharing stories about my life here in Alaska.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Cycling
    Charity work
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Journeyman Heavy Equipment Mechanic and Hydraulic Technician. Very good basic computer skills. Good cook. All around handyman (can fix most anything) plumbing, electrical, etc. Nitrox open water diver. I have acted and directed many live theater plays from comedies to dramas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Always interested in learning some of the local language of the places I travel to.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    67

  • What else ...

    I am an extremely easy going person who doesn't stress or panic over things. I am also a theater director and have directed close to 20+ plays.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback