Catherine

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/08/2020 - 17/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Catherine Grizzard and I'm from the United States, specifically, the southern state of Georgia. I've traveled to several places throughout my life and I've found out that I'm most interested in cultural exchanges rather than seeing the most touristy spot. I love staying in hostels and taking the local transport because I find that I meet the most people this way.

    I'm really passionate about people and different ways of life around the world. I want to learn from the locals and teach others about my culture as well. I know that I'm young but I'm really motivated and ready to work! I also enjoy theatre, hiking, and reading. I'm really outgoing, positive, and easily adjustable to almost any situation. Looking forward to making an impact for the betterment of our world and forming new friendships!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've had experience working as a waitress at a local Indian restaurant in my hometown and working as a birthday party host for children - so I'm pretty good with adults and kids both! I'm able to help with childcare, cleaning, and hostel reception work without much guidance once shown the ropes.

    I've planned a lot of my own trips and I absolutely love it so I consider myself really organized and good with planning. I'm also really patient and energetic.

    I've hosted an exchange student from Brazil and I'm even going on exchange in a few months with YES Abroad! I have a lot of experience with sharing my culture and learning about others. I'm a decent cook and I'm happy to help in that regard. I can make an effort to learn the local recipes as well as share some of my own.

    Most of all, I'm really passionate! I'm hardworking and determined and am willing to try anything. Though I don't have too much experience, I'm interested in learning more about eco projects, farm stays, and animal care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    18

  • What else ...

    As mentioned before, my hobbies include theatre, reading, and hiking. I love the outdoors, anything from waterfall jumping to camping. My favorite activity in the city is walking around and absorbing it all. I'm a pretty big foodie as well so I love trying new things!

    I enjoy a bit of cooking, swimming, and piano playing. Also open to finding new hobbies while abroad!
    Would like to learn more about humanitarian aid, eco projects, and animal care as I would like to be skilled and more informed on these matters.

    I'm really looking for an authentic experience either out in nature or with a host who's interested in sharing all aspects of the culture. I really enjoy discussion on different matters because I like knowing other's point of view.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback