Tabea & Lara

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Netherlands, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 27/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    557

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello there,

    we are Tabea and Lara, two sisters who enjoy traveling together whenever we can.
    In the spring of 2018, we took part in our first joint Workaway project; learning about polytunnel gardening in the north of Ireland, which we thoroughly enjoyed.
    We've been dreaming of going on another adventure ever since and will finally be able to do so in August 2019.

    Let us introduce ourselves:
    "My name is Tabea (25) and I am in my 5th year of studying medicine in Bonn, the former capital of Germany,
    where I also work part-time in the A&E department.
    Ever since I was an exchange student in New Zealand in 2011 (which is where I must have caught the travel bug),
    my heart yearns to get away to see new places, meet new people and learn about their lives.

    Since I first started volunteering with Workaway in 2013, I have worked and lived in 7 different projects across the UK & Ireland, so I'd say I have acquired a good sense for what needs doing and how to participate in a helpful way.
    When I'm not at university, I enjoy going for a walk or a picnic along the river Rhine, singing in one of our university choirs, live music, photography, sewing and knitting projects (e.g. for my local Shakespeare Theatre's costume department) and cooking or baking vegetarian recipes from all over the world, which I love to share with others. Because of my food allergies against eggs and fish/seafood, I have learned to make a lot of things from scratch, such as cinnamon rolls, Banana Bread, Streusel cakes (which are a German favorite), Irish Soda Bread or pizza dough.
    Recently I have started learning about urban gardening and turned my balcony into a green little paradise.

    In my opinion, respect, empathy and honesty are very important values in life, so you can be sure to have a reliable workawayer."

    "My name is Lara (17) and I will soon begin my last year of high school in our hometown of Bielefeld, Germany.
    Right now I am still living with my parents and grandparents in our three-generation home but I recently started doing some research on possible classes to study at university later on. So far, my favorites include forensic sciences, biology and geography.
    I am an outdoor kind of person and I especially enjoy hiking, running and camping trips.
    Apart from that, I love to read, nurse plants, spend time with my guinea pigs and other animals and bake.
    I recently started working in an ice cream parlor a few afternoons a week, which is great fun."

    Even though we are more than 7 years apart in age, we have grown very close in the past few years and work well as a team. We don't smoke and are used to helping out with cooking, doing dishes and any other odd jobs around the house.
    Due to differences between the school and university holidays, we don't often get the opportunity to go on a longer trip, so we are really looking forward to using our two weeks in August to experience everyday life and learn about your local culture in our second Workaway adventure together.

    If you feel like we could be the kind of Workawayer that you're looking for, we would love to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    During former workaway stays we helped my hosts with...
    -Renovation/ Decoration
    -Learning German
    -Cooking!
    -Babysitting
    -Working behind the bar (Tabea used to work as a bartender for a few years)
    -Gardening / planting vegetables in a polytunnel
    - and of course odd jobs around the house (Dishes, dusting, polishing the family silver....)

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, some French and Spanish

  • Age

    25 & 18

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    If you think that we might be the kind of workawayers you are looking for, we would love to hear from you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Eggs, fish and some kinds of animal hair.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly vegetarian

Photos

Tabea in Ireland (2018)
Lara petting an alpaca in Northern Ireland (2017)
Showing of a handknitted hat.
Polytunnel gardening in Co. Donegal (2018) Left: Lara, Right: Tabea
2017 left: Lara, right: Tabea
Climbing a rock in Dunlewey, Ireland (2018)
Lara doing cartwheels on the beach in Co. Donegal
Having fun at a local music festival
Tabea in Malta (2018)
Lara in Denmark (2019)
Tabea all dressed up for surgery
Ireland, on a roadtrip with my lovely host Julie (2016)
Tabea with her hosts in Bolsover, UK (2016)
Tabea's trademark cinnamon rolls(:
Lovely walk in the snow with the children in Bolsover, UK (2016)

Feedback