Bev

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Faroe Islands, Finland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/05/2019 - 31/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I'm an active, professional female who loves adventure, travel, walking and a daily swim. If I travel abroad I like nothing better than to live the life of the locals and to learn local history and culture, rather than spend a holiday in a resort. I love cooking and baking, having learnt these skills as a child from my very creative mother on our family farm. One of the pictures on this website is myself with deserts I made for my daughter's wedding two years ago. I've also hosted international students in my home for many years. It's a way of learning about new cultures, but also offering hospitality to others. After I finish work each day I walk home - it's an 8km walk, but a real highlight for me to unwind after a busy day.
    I've worked in communications as a writer, photographer and journalist for much of my life; I've done much online writing, updated websites and posted social media. I spent my childhood on a sheep farm but through my writing career worked in a number of different states around Australia. While my children were little I wrote a book and continued working as a journalist from home, while also establishing a large flower and vegetable garden around our newly constructed home on our cattle farm. I love the outdoors, having walked the Camino of St James last year in Spain and trekking 900 kms while away. Two years ago I obtained a volunteer's position in a small Pacific developing nation Vanuatu as a communications advisor. My role was to help an advocacy organisation for people with disabilities write a communication plan and implement a social media presence for them. I work for a large public health organisation as a communications officer and have much day to day contact with a large number of stakeholders.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Writing and media, including social media; photography, keen baker and cook, highly skilled computer,
    gardener, good people skills. homemaker,

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I'm a self-starter and use to working independently. I'm a determined person and always finish a job. I'm empathetic, respectful and show concern for those less fortunate than myself. At the age of 57 I went back to study at university, one of the best decisions I ever made.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback