John

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/03/2017 - 28/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    353

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I am a US expat. (No, I did not vote for Trump!) I have always loved travel and meeting people from other cultures, and have visited almost 30 countries.

    I teach English online, and also write freelance. In addition to English, I speak pretty good Brazilian Portuguese and passable Spanish.

    I love nature and outdoor activities, although I am not quite as active and crazy as I used to be. (Middle age!) But I also enjoy cultural activities such as museums, local festivals, history and folklore. I try to be balanced in my activities, and I know a little about many places and many things. Ah, I cook a bit as well, and would love to learn some typical dishes from your country. (Although I try to eat healthy foods generally, I will eat almost anything!)

    Note that I am an early riser, usually up about 6:30 without an alarm clock. But I can be quiet until you get up. I try very hard to be respectful of others, and hope to also be treated with respect.

    I realize that I am older than most workawayers. But perhaps that could be a good thing. Let's meet and get to know each other.

    John

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a certified English teacher with more than 8 years of experience. I also write professionally and can help with translations from Portuguese or Spanish into English. I am generally comfortable with children and domestic pets (dogs and cats, not horses and cattle!). I have a pretty good knowledge of blogging and WordPress.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, Spanish (OK)

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    USA (expat)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      ragweed pollen, flounder (fish)

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback