Maren

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/03/2019 - 11/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Dear future hosts,
    I work at an International school in Germany, teaching German as an additional language to foreign students. Travelling the world and experiencing new cultures have always been one of my greatest interests. I especially value the experiences that come from meeting people, as well as getting to know their culture. Traveling is also important to me because the experiences teach me about my own life and are opening up new perspectives to me. I truly believe that there is a lot of wisdom to be found and that personal growth results from stepping out of your comfort zone and into the unknown... I am curious by nature and interested in trying out new pathways.

    I am taking a break (mid February 2019 - mid February 2020) from my regular teaching job in search for new inspirations and experiences. I would like to combine traveling and working and I am looking to stay in places for a longer period of time (from 1 month to 3 months), to be able to be immersed in the culture and traditional life. Also, whenever possible, I am looking for work that requires my skills and that could potentially be paid, since I want to travel for one year and can not rely on big savings. I would appreciate if hosts contact me directly, if they feel that my description matches also their interests and needs. I am looking forward to the experiences, exchanges and adventures to come :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    teaching languages in schools and in language centers (German, English), translating, Summer Camp experience with children and young adults (crafts, outdoor activities), farm work, practising outdoor sports (swimming, cycling, running)

  • Languages spoken

    German (mother tongue), English (fluent), Spanish (basic skills), French (basic skills)

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    My preferences for volunteering work are ...

    language teaching (English or German),
    language tutoring for hosts,
    translation work (English-German/German-English),
    working for an NGO (social, cultural or educational focus),
    helping out in retreats (preferably yoga/meditation/ecologicaly oriented),
    volunteering in wildlife organizations/national parks and
    working in Camps for children and young adults,
    customer service, if clients speak German or English,
    working with tourists (accompany tours/activities),
    cooking,
    preparing rooms for guests

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian/vegan

Photos

Feedback