Eric

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Japan - from Dec 2022 until May 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hello!
    I'm Eric and I'm embracing a semi-nomadic lifesyle inorder to gain the skills and connections to help me build a meaningful and ecologically responsible livlihood. For the foreseeable future my plan is to travel around spending the majority of my time volunteering and learning about permaculture, agroforestry, sustainable animal husbandry (particularly silvopasture), natural building, intentional communities, and project/business management. I am primarily interested in long term posititons (1 or more months) which allow me to deepen and expand my skill set, take on managerial responsibilities, and understand the practical aspects of how buisnesses/intentional communities/farms/eco-projects function.
    I'm most interested in projects which are actively engaged in creating harmonious relationships amongst humans and between humans and the earth. Whether it's through holistic/sustainable agricultural and building practices, community engagement, and/or mindful living practices, I'm eager to learn and experience new/better ways of living on this wild planet.
    My other interests include hiking/exploring/camping, music (playing & listening), having meaningful & truthful conversations, playing games, mindfulness, nature based spirituality/wisdom traditions, cooking/eating, ecology.... and wherever my mind wanders
    My academic background is in Cultural Anthropology, which is the study of human societies and culture. I am in the process of exploring various ways I can incorporate this background into building a livelihood for myself. Within anthropology, my biggest interest is in communities and individuals who are attempting to live into being regenerative lifeways which attempt to counter (or at least respond to) the destructive by-products of civilization, including rampant consumerism, climate change, envronmental degredation etc. I'm also interested in indigenous cultures and their fight for justice, as well as music, art, religion/spirituality, and culinary traditions. I'm always gladly partake in thoughtful conversations on these and other topics.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I've worked/volunteered on a number of farms growing all sorts of vegetables, i've raised, harvested, and processed chickens, done tree care in an agroforestry context, i've worked in landscaping, dabbled in masonry and woodworking (mostly building raised garden beds), I've been a camp counselor at an environmental summer camp leading or assisting with educational nature hikes, all sorts of activities (including wild crafting, mountain biking, primitive backpacking trips), worked a variety of customer service oriented jobs (waiter, instructor at a zip line park, lifeguard). I've never cooked professionally, but I love to do it and know how to cook a variety of tasty and healthy meals. I enjoy writing and could create content for a blog/website.
    I am a TEFL certified English Teacher
    I'm a very flexible and hard worker, comfortable working with people of all ages and backgrounds. I pick up new skills easily and love to learn. I have a growing understanding plants, permaculture, organic farming, agroforestry, ecology, animal husbandry (minimal), and natural building (also minimal)
    I can play guitar, drums and sing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback