Jodi

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2020 - 29/03/2022

  • Badges

    Testing Tribe
    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Are you looking for an upbeat, funny, silly, kind, smart, organized, responsible person to work with, share good times with, and exchange cultural information with. Then, that person is ME!!

    My name is Jodi. I am a dentist and I live in Colorado, USA. I have been a dentist for 32 years, and now it's time to pursue my passions--animals and travel!! I am happiest when I am working with animals and out in nature. I have shared my life with and trained multiple dogs over the years and I also dogsit for other people when they travel. Before I started volunteering through Workaway, I spent a year volunteering at an Equine Therapy Center--grooming and feeding the horses, cleaning stalls, and any other barn activities that needed to be done. I also spent a month as a volunteer dentist on an island in the West Indies. What a wonderful experience to be immersed in the local culture and to contribute to their healthcare. I am passionate about traveling and learning about other cultures. I have traveled to China, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, and many European countries.

    Since volunteering through Workaway, I have: volunteered in Canada at a dog resort and managed that business while the owner was on a 1-month vacation; volunteered in Australia at a sheep station/farmstay, and also for 3 different families who each had cattle farms/accommodations. During that time I vaccinated and drenched sheep and cattle, and also took care of one of the farms for 2 weeks while the owners were on vacation in Thailand. In Ireland, I helped a family with their eventing horses and traveled as a groom with them to events. In the U.K., I helped on a sheep farm...milking sheep and using the milk to make their organic cheeses. In the Italian Alps, I helped a family make their award winning wines and I also cared for their 11 gorgeous Bernese Mountain Dogs. In New Zealand, I helped on cattle farms, a farm animal sanctuary, an off the grid lodge that was only accessible by boat, foot or mountain bike, and I dog sat for some hilarious dogs. What a great year! And most recently, I have just finished a 5-month stay on a horse ranch in southern Colorado.

    In my free time, I am in the mountains hiking in the summer and snowshoeing in the winter. I also enjoy reading, and various types of artwork--painting, making stained glass, and other crafts.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I am an excellent listener and work well with others.
    I have great organizational skills.
    I can speak French somewhat.
    I'm great with animals.
    I can type 60 words per minute.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    58

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I love chocolate!! Did I mention that already?!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Chocolate!!!

Photos

Feedback