1 / 3

Join our bilingual family and help us renovate our house in an ecological way close to the Swiss Alps Alsace, France

  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 2 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a french - german couple with two lovely girls, 5 and 7 years old, living in France close to the Suisse and German border. We are looking for people to help us to renovate in an ecological way our beautiful house built in the 1920. Our house is situated in the city centre of a small town (Saint-Louis) right next to Basel. Surrounded by the swiss alps, the black forest and the Vosges Mountains you can enjoy German, French and Swiss culture at the same time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You are very welcome to participate in our daily live as french - german parents. We will have together breakfast and dinner, you are invited to participate in our weekly activities, or trips on the week-end. We try to live in an ecological way, we bake our own bread and produce our own yoghurt, participate in different environmental associations, take part or animate participation processes ... We will also enjoy to get you familiar with french, german and swiss architecture if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently renovation the first floor of our house and are looking for people to help with plastering and painting work and refurbishing beautiful old doors and windows. There is although the garden to be set up : planting, paving, construction of a tree-house...
    You do not need to have special skills, but our own experience has shown us that these works requires to be physically fit. We are both architects and work in our own office. We can arrange our working day and can partly work together with you, but you should also be able to work independently without us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live together with us in our comfortable appartement situated on the second and third floor of the house. Almost everything is already renovated and cosily furnished. You will have your own room, recently renovated and you will share the bathroom with our girls.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we live in a quite urban area, we are surrounded by beautiful nature never far away. You can easily get around with public transport or bike and enjoy wether the rich cultural life of Basel with lots of museums and art galleries or start trips to the swiss alps, the black forest or the Vosges Mountains. In winter the next ski spot is about 1 hour away, in summer you can swim in the Rhin River that is reachable by bike within 10 minutes from our house. You can also just enjoy good french food and wine :-).

    We are curious, respectful and open minded people and looking forward for people sharing these values.
    Minimum stay would be two weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection to work from home.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 997839269897

Photos

Feedback