Come and help us around our home and get to know Cretan culture in Chania, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 221 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello all you beautiful souls,

    My name is Ingrid I am a healer and a spiritual guide from Austria but living on Crete almost 40 years now. Me and my Cretan husband living in a small village outside of Chania. We are parents of 4 adult children and meanwhile grandparents of 2 beautiful girls. We are owner of a restaurant including a pool and seven apartments. While my husband is busy running the restaurant and our farm, all my heart goes into my spiritual retreat center.
    I mainly need help for the winter, when the restaurant is closed and we have a lot to do on our farm. Our farm includes a vegetable garden, olive trees, sheeps, goats and pigs. So things to do are olive harvesting (November-January), general gardening, cutting fire wood, helping feed the animals. Although the restaurant is closed during the winter season does not mean there is no work to do. Small renovations always have to be done. In winter we can offer you a small apartment with WiFi and we provide you with food. During the winter time we would appreciate to host a couple or at least two people so you do not feel lonely.
    From January till April we will also need help with painting and preparing the house for season.
    In the summertime we are always really busy with the restaurant and the retreat center. We have a lot of spiritual seminars and guests from all over the world so we need your help for small things like cleaning the pool, gardening on our farm and general housekeeping.
    During season time we usually rent out our apartments so we can provide you a tent for sleep and you can use the common room of my office as well as the kitchen and bathroom. The restaurant is open every day so there is of course enough food for you.
    I am always interested in meeting people from all over the world and grateful for any help I can get.

    Hope to hear from you and lots of love from me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In my spiritual retreat center we have a weekly meditation and free dance workshops where you are more then welcome to join, if you are interested. In the summer time we have different kind of seminars with people from all over the world. So it is a great place to meet some interesting personalities.
    On Crete you can find a lot of old Greek traditions so if you are interested in Cretan culture we will show you some impressions.
    I am three lingual, German, Greek and English so if you like i can teach you some words.

  • Help

    Help

    if there is a good will and flexibility there is always something what you can do. Depends on the time of the year it would be nice if you have some skills in painting, gardening, computer work and generally to know how to use your hands.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the winter time you will get your own apartment and we will cook for you. During season time if all apartments are rent out, you will get a tent for sleep and there will be enough food from the restaurant for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is around 15 km outside of Chania and the buses to Chania city center run every 30 mins. The Bus station is directly in front of the restaurant. There are Ancient ruins 2km away with splendid views of the White Mountains. In just 10 min. walking distance there is a small Stone beach. And from here you have a beautiful view over the Souda Bay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 996695825151