Come join our off grid and to-be self-sufficient farmstead in south Lapland, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 219 times
  • Last activity: 05/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ***Minimum age 23 years old***
    ***We are especially interested in hosting people who are looking to live completely self sufficient in the future and maybe even wants to stay in this area***

    Do you have what it takes to live without modern facilities & running water? Do you want to experience what it's like to live off of the land, gather and fish for your own food in order to survive in what's called the last wilderness of Europe?
    If so, come & be part of our in the making self sufficient alpine homestead & experience what it's like to live truly off the grid with us!

    We are a Swedish/English couple, Cecilia (29) and Aaron (34), living on a beautiful old private farmstead "in the middle of nowhere" in Lappland, north Sweden. On our farm also lives goats, rabbits and chickens.

    Lapland, despite it's cold and harsh climate, is a place where people have been living self sufficient, as hunter-gatherers, ever since the end of the last ice age when the land became habitable about 10.000 years ago.

    Every day we strive to become less and less dependent on modern society and live off of the land, like we used to do. This means we have to put in a lot of manual work to sustain ourselves, including tending to animals, gardening, collecting firewood, fetching water etc. Therefore it's important that you as a volunteer are prepared that help will be physically demanding at times and also, since we haven't got an income, food will be quite basic at times. In summer we commonly eat fish, goats cheese and potatoes (or rice for variation) and in the winter meat and potatoes.

    However, although work can be hard, the rewards of our work are greater - eating fresh fish from the lake, berries from the forest and milk from the goats is luxuries few has access to. And in the end of a working day, jumping in the lake or having a hot sauna as well as cooking on the open fire in the evenings... For the nature and animal lover, this is a small bit of paradise on earth.


    ABOUT US

    Being introspective & curious, Cecilia loves to dig deep into the innovative ways people sustained themselves in this part of the world before modernization and apply it to the farm. Other interests include nutritional sciences, spending time in nature and playing music. Cecilia has done plenty of workawaying in the past during her 2 years of solo backpacking.

    Aaron, having worked in England as a landscape gardener running his own company is a hands on, practical and hard working man. His interests include building, mechanics and generally fixing stuff, but also sports like snow boarding and mountain biking. Plus he's a great cook!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the chance to experience for yourself what life was like in Lapland when people lived off of the land in the old days.

    There are no modern facilities here, everything is heated by wood, food is cooked on the fire, dishes are done without running water, there is no shower (just a beautiful cold lake).

    As we are both new to this lifestyle, we are learning new things every day about raising animals, gardening, preserving food etc. in traditional ways. As a volunteer you will have the opportunity to learn many things and even teach us things too. There's a lot to learn, really a lot, and it's very exciting and interesting to discover alternative ways of for example preserving food to last without usage of modern facilities and gardening in ways that yields the greatest harvest with minimal effort.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our main jobs this summer include helping with hay making, different types of garden jobs, helping with the animals (moving fences, feeding etc), berry picking and fishing.
    Daily jobs include fetching water in the forest spring, chopping firewood and cooking over the fire.

    In the winter work is mainly looking after animals (fetching water and bringing them hay), plus snow clearing and a few other maintenance jobs. There's also opportunity to go ice fishing using our equipment in the nearby lake.

    In our closest fishing lake lives perch and a few trout and we usually put down a cage one day and the next we have got sometimes 50-100 perch which needs degutting and taking care of. There's also another lake with trout only (salmon fish) where we will go sometimes and fish with rods & put down nets.

    Please bear in mind that we haven't got much income so please be careful with any tools or equipment that you borrow. If something would break when used incorrectly, we will kindly ask for compensation. Just make sure to follow instructions and don't be afraid to ask if something is unclear.

    We have put down 5 hours as expected work, however living on an off grid farm means everything takes more time than usual, since for example water needs to be fetched by hand, as well as wood for heating the stove.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can choose between living in the upstairs "apartment" in the old farm house, potentially sharing room with other guests or you can stay in a traditional Sami hut ("kåta") with a fireplace inside.

    Food we will mainly cook outside on the fire. We eat mainly fish and potatoes in the winter and in the spring/summer we also get milk from the goats and eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is very close to a beautiful lake where you can go swimming or fishing. We also got a boat and a traditional log sauna on the land for use. Around the farm is deep beautiful woods and wildlife here is abundant. Around here lives for example many mooses, reindeer, wolves, wolverines, and even a few bears has been seen (rarely).

    The closest shop is in Åsele, about 35 km away, we won't be going there often but maybe once a week for some essentials. We can pick you up from Åsele where you can go by bus from Umeå, Dorotea and Vilhelmina.

    Its good to bring a sleeping bag, working gloves, good shoes and a maybe a knife. In wintertime a flashlight is very handy and in summertime mosquito nets to protect your head and bigger ones that covers your bed could be useful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a desk in the room for volunteers and with the right internet provider there is excellent internet access.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 995788658198

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.6)







Help out with looking after puppy, cooking/cleaning and hanging out with my son
Help with daily life and with my animals in my homestead in Nyland, Northern Sweden