Help at my intercultural health center in my house

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 222 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I´m Juan Carlos Donoso, and my ancestral name is Yuru Parayaku. I´m an andean shaman "Yachaj" in our endemic language Kechwa. I´m a 68 years old Ing. in Agronomics who´s been recovering ancestral techniques of agriculture already for 40 years and ancestral medicine for the last 20 years. I´ve been learning and working all along Latin America with wise woman and man, from Mexico to Argentina, trying to understand and apply our infinite ancient knowledge in order to share it and spread the word. That drove me to be already for 24 years, Dean of Ancestral Agriculture in the "Jatun Yachay Wasi" Indigenous University in Colta (Chimborazo Province). Here in my house I created a healing center for people who´s thirsty to know more about our andean spirituality, heal and learn from our culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I´m a shaman (man of ancestral knowledge) of the Andes - Ecuador. I have an intercultural health center here in my house; I do energy cleanings using traditional plants and Temascal (ancestral bath). Moreover, I also do with my wife traditional food, organic farming including all Andes species. I´m a ing. agronomics specialized in ancestral agriculture also. So, this little house I need help with can be the perfect excuse to get to know a lot of ancient Andes farming techniques, traveling along gorgeous mountain sites in Ecuador. I´m 68, not big budget guy, so I just need a for improving the little farm and finishing the small cabin.

  • Help

    Help

    I´m building a little house with recycled materials surrounded by an nice organic farm, to try to set it up for online rental later and receive people for my ancestral ceremonies here in the middle of the mountains in Ecuador.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have several spaces. First the little cabin by it self is almost ready to be in, just need a little hand in the kitchen. Also I have a communal room, where anyone can stay already: hot shower, several beds (open space) and toilet. The last communal room is just above the temascal installation. Food will be made here in my house, we always have organic products, healthy food, home chickens and eggs; and all variety of traditional dishes, soaps, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It´s very important to mention the location; Natabuela. Is a little town near Ibarra and Otavalo. And couple of hours from Quito on very comfortable and affordable taxis or buses. This province, Imbabura, is one of the prettiest places in Ecuador, surrounded by lakes and a powerful indigenous culture, including: music, food, textiles and handcrafts. Is the strongest ancestral culture alive in the region. If someone is interested in cultural exchange, this is the place. People is super open, super spiritual and generous. Beginning with the Imbabura volcano, the province is full of amazing mountains and highlands sites. Also, not to forget, we´re four hours from the ocean in the north province of Esmeraldas. Tropical beaches are just around the corner, like the well known surf spot Mompiche. And to finish it, we´re six to seven hours by bus to the Amazon jungle. So, I think, giving me a hand you´ll learn a lot of interesting stuff plus being some time in one of the prettiest countries of the world. Oh not to forget, depends on your budget, you can always come to the Galapagos islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 994399771897