Help our children learning and practicing English in the maya forest of El Remate, Petén, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a guatemalan family of 5: Father, mother, daugher (13), son (8) and grandmother.
    We love animals and have two dogs, a cat, ducks and gueese.
    We are nature and archaeology lovers living in the maya forest of El Remate, a very friendly laid back community on the Lake Petén Itza shore.
    Our small child needs reinforcement in English Language - reading and writing and our oldest daughter needs to practice her English more.
    We have been wanting to grow a vegetable garden for a long time, but need the help to start it!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    El Remate is a beautiful laid back village at Lake Petén Itza shore. 30 min from Tikal archaeological site and other maya sites like Yaxha and Uaxactun. Many outdoor sports such as kayaking and hiking can be done. It is a spanish speaking country so visitors can learn the language if they stay long enough.
    We love Guatemalan history and cultures, and we are always willing to have aconversation and share a a drink and good meal.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    1. Two hours a day of English oral and written exercises, helping with homework or learning games.
    2. One hour a day of outdoor activities with the children or gardening

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and private bathroom in a wooden house with independent entrance.
    Workayer can share kitchen with family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Swimming and kayaking in the lake all year round. Horseback riding and nature hikes. Archaeological sites nearby.
    There is also a children's center and a clinic in the village where workawayers can volunteer for other activities.
    lores island at 30min has lots of restaurants and night life on the weekend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is working space in the house workawayer will be lodging.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big lot where a campervan could fit perfectly

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 988824622169