Idyllic Scottish Island Experience ~ enjoy helping us out on our friendly family run croft ~ UK


United Kingdom


Favourited 160 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    My name is Beth, I live with my husband Chris and we have six grown up children. We live at the south end of the beautiful Isle of Arran, It’s very accessible from the Scottish mainland, only 50 minutes by train from Glasgow to the ferry port for Arran.

    We brought up our large family here, even though our four daughers and two sons, aged 18 - 24 years have all ‘flown the nest’ they always come back as much as possible to catch up with their family and friends and to enjoy life at the slower pace that Arran offers. Sometimes the house will seem quiet other times it will be busy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living as part of our family and sharing meals with us. We are happy to help teach any skills we might use while renovating the cottage or in the garden, we can share other knowledge we have gained from our past renovations.

    We also have a lot of hobbies that we would happily share like baking and jewellery making. We live in a very quiet rural location in a very beautiful part of the world, don't expect nightlife! we have wi-fi and we are on the bus route so not too uncivilised.

  • Help


    We have a large house and garden which we require some help looking after. We always have lots of projects on the go, we mainly work outside unless the weather drives us inside.

    This year we hope to establish a bigger vegetable garden and put up a polytunnel so we can extend our growing season. We are also in the middle of renovating an old farm cottage on our land, we have builders doing some of the work but need help with some of the decorating, kitchen and bathroom fitting, woodwork and tidying up the area around the cottage which includes some land clearance.

    We have too many projects to list but the workaways we have had so far have never be bored as there is lots of variety of tasks and plenty of new skills to learn. Last year between March and October we had over twenty different workaways to stay, some plan to come back again this year and we are looking forward to seeing them again.

    We try to have two workaways to stay at the same time as we think it's nice if our workaways have some company there own age and a companion to go exploring with, but we are happy with one person as well.

    This is the type of help our workaways did last year....
    Maintaining gardens - weeding and planting
    Assisting with some cottage renovation.
    Stacking lots of slates
    Clearing materials from old farm buildings
    Painting, decorating
    Garden Woodwork
    Cutting wood
    Outdoor painting, walls, sheds and fences
    Re-organising sheds and cupboards
    Cleaning, inside and out
    Cleaning out the hen and duck house
    Brushing the dogs
    Clearing overgrown garden

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A lovely large bedroom on the top floor of our house with fantastic views. There are two single beds, stoage for your belongings and use of a shower room, all bedding and towels are provided. I hope you like cats? Our cat Dandy always seems very happy to move in with our workaways :)

    Breakfast - 'help yourself' cereal, toast, tea, orange juice etc.
    Lunch - homemade soup and/or sandwiches
    Evening meal - home cooked dinner, we eat meat oursleves but can cater for vegetarians.
    If you are going exploring on your days off you can make yourself a packed lunch and we can always keep your dinner warm for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is surrounded by open farm land and beautiful sea views. One of Arran’s most popular sandy beaches is a five minute walk away and in the other direction there is a secluded rocky beach. Spend enough time here and be rewarded with otter and seal sightings. Arran has a maze of forestry tracks to explore easily reached from our home.

    The nearest shops are 8k away but our village has a campsite shop and a pub. there is often a craft market or a coffee morning on the weekends in the Village Hall

    Arran is steeped in history, places to visit include Brodick Castle, Lochranza Castle and Arran Heritage Museum. 

    Recreational facilities include golf, cycling, pony trekking, gorge walking, kayaking, sailing, fishing, para-gliding, snorkelling and swimming. If you are keen on walking then Arran has a wealth of varied walks and climbs for all abilities.

    There are a variety of places for eating out and plenty of local crafts and gift shops. For natural history lovers there is an abundance of flora and fauna. Arran can offer all year round entertainment with live music, family ceilidhs, drama and village events.

    Arran is reached via a ferry from Ardrossan, there is a regular train link from the city of Glasgow which takes about 50 minutes. There are air links at Prestwick International Airport, Glasgow International Airport and Edinburgh Airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Beth and Chris
Baking, Yummy!
Well, clearing this looks like a big job....
Job done, a great achievement
A well earned tea break
Beach bonfire at Silver Sands
Saoirse and Millie
Lunch in the sunshine
Our mucky ducks
Epic Cider making
The never-ending pile of slates
One of many beach bonfires
The view from the road behind our house
The Arran Ferry

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 987496433988