Help us take care of our farm and experience the exotic beauty of Wilderness, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I, Lisa, live in Wilderness on the Garden Route, South Africa's most famous coastline. We have 3 dogs and live on a small farm. We have an old farmhouse which we have renovated and we are still busy with many landscaping projects around the property. We also have a succulent nursery that we operate from the farm.

    We are well traveled. We lived in Dubai for 8 years and have travelled to many countries through Couch Surfing and Work Away. We love getting to know people from other cultures and really enjoyed staying with people as work awayers and now want the chance to host people, get some help with our projects and also show visitors some of our beautiful area!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will get to experience the beautiful Garden Route of South Africa. We are very open minded and love getting to know people from other cultures... we will have many great conversations and cook together and introduce guests to local people of the area.... always the best way to travel. There is a lot of activities in this area, and it particularly suits people that are adventurous, like the outdoors and nature!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help with general outdoor DIY, landscaping and gardening projects around our small farm. The tasks may also include helping in the succulent nursery, looking after the animals and cooking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Keen to learn French and Spanish and also happy to practice English with anyone that is looking to learn or improve... this is something we've always done on our travels over the last 10 years.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom with a queen-sized bed and ensuite bathroom that you will be welcome to use. Food will be provided, but work awayers will be involved with preparing meals and shopping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In this area, we have some incredible natural beauty, some of the country's best beaches, amazing forests and majestic mountains. We love to explore and are happ to show visitors our area. There are good restaurants in the area and a lot of outdoor activities including hiking, kayaking, surfing, etc. Check out this link on Lonely Planet for more about the Garden Route:

    We have a car and can offer some transport in the area now and then. But we live a 10 min drive from the village so visitors need to be comfortable with being a little outside of town. We have a shop and restaurants within 10 minute walk though.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good uncapped WIFI. We both work from home and have no issues with internet quality. We're happy to share ideas and collaborate and we also have an amazing coffee machine :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a big property with plenty space for a vehicle and guests are also welcome to use our facilities in our house as well.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 986738636751