Give a hand on a organic smallholding of our family in Le Fossat, France

Country

France

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers!
    We are a French native family of 5 : Arnaud & Christelle 40, Martin (♂️) 12, Inès (♀️) 10 and Titouan (♂️) 6 yo.
    We are homeschooler family, nearly unschooler. That give us a live style different, there isn't a real difference between weekends and working days at home!

    We live on a hill at 1,5 km of the village Le Fossat. We have a great view on the Pyrénées.

    We have a smallholding of organic grape. We start selling on the markets.

    We live with Chasselas, our cat ( and Neela, that of your neighbor). They don't really have a very important place here, we love them and "they are", but it is important information for allergies or people who are afraid.
    We have some hens and cock (no voiceless, but they are not close to the house!)

    Think to have a personnal insurance to come here, and to be ok with our visa, if you aren't a Europeen citizen.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is always a good exchange of knowledge and experiences with new people!

    Eco-construction, organic vineyard, gardening, French (can be intensive if you want!), cooking, homeschooling.

    You could discover your neighbours who create a community, a democratic village (Village de Pourgues),

    The countryside is fantastic. There are plenty cultural and historical experiences around.

    Sorry but we will not spend weekend or long time off with you because we have plenty of work until we leave to travel in winter...

  • Help

    Help

    We need help from january 20 mainly in the afternoon, for :
    - assist to fix up the house, it's the focus,
    - fencing/trellising, we want to finish protect the vine trees against the boars
    - cook meal/canning ratatouille/ tomato (in summer)...

    We need a really help, than you need to be in good physical condition! It's not a contemplative workaway, we hope that you want to maintain your fitness. Sorry but we can't accept people who spend all time on smartphone or tablet! It's also a model we want for our children.

    You don't need to childcare. Just to accept that our children are lively, they can be noisy sometimes, wrangle too! But your farm is enough big to find a place for meditation if you need ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom for you in our house. With a double bed, we can provide one more bed for a child. We stop electricity and wifi at night in the bedrooms for a real breather.

    We live on a hill 1,5km to the village. Here you must be good to travel in bicycle ! You can try the hichhiking if you do not have time constraints.

    We don't eat meat and daily product. You can buy for ourself if you need.
    We eat organic.
    We provide 3 meals for workers in exchange of 5 hours per days / 25 h/week. Your time could spend as is better for you and us. We need help mainly in the afternoon.

    Couple or family welcome within the limit of the available space (one bedroom, or in a tent in september, october is a rainy month usually).
    We are ok with vegan, LGBT, or pet (but need to respect our cats and our hens, and can't sleep inside)
    We can't host allergic to gluten, celiac disease, it's too difficult to manage, sorry.
    Naturally we don't accept alcohol/canabis addicts, we are a heathly family.

    We considere that people have basicly a good education : then they respect the sleep of others, they leave the shower clean, they smoke away, they help for dress table, even if that have pass 5 hours to help.

    We could borrow a car if you need sometime, and we can collect you on airport (Toulouse or Carcassonne) or a station.
    We have some bicycles too, if you are athlelic.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We think that we could have a really helpful exchange. We are woofers/helpers volunteers too. We love to be helpful, there is only solutions and experiences. Then sometime we had help in weekend, one night. We adapt. Then we hope to continue meet people like us.

    If you are curious, we have a workawayer profiles!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week

our strawball house
Our Smallholding
our young vineyard (grape)
Our family in woofing in England last winter
Host ref number: 986492228342