Help with Olive Harvest and enjoy some excursions in Puglia, Italy



Favourited 747 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    I'm a 51 years old man who lives partially in Vancouver, Canada, with my wife Jennifer and our son August, and partially in Altamura, Puglia region, southern Italy where I was born and raised. Here, since 1870, my family runs a farm with olive groves and cultivating durum wheat, fava beans, barley, and oats. I always have been involved in farming with my brothers and my parents focusing on organic agriculture. Our family farm has 700 olive trees and during the harvest season we need help, but at the same time, we like to share and to spread the culture of organic food and sustainable approach to agriculture.

    However, my principal profession is art- architectural-archaeological restorer and during the summer I teach students from all over the world who come to participate in the field programs, in Altamura, to learn about restoration and conservation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a three-week immersive experience for travellers wanting to help to sustain a centenarian food culture practice, learn about how to distinguish a good quality olive oil and gain knowledge and awareness of the general food industry and market, and learn about the wealth of art and the history of the region.

  • Help


    We need help with the daily procedures of picking the olives: setting the nets under the trees, shaking the branches by hand rakes and pneumatic rakes, filling the crates and transporting them to the local press in town at the end of the day.

    The harvest takes generally from 12 to 14 days of labour. In exchange, besides food and accommodation, we are happy to offer a week of cultural immersive experiences throughout guided visits and local food preparation.

    Help with driving is very welcome.

    Period: we need a three-week availability/commitment - approx mid-November to the mid-December, 2020 (exact dates will be given in late September 2020 according to how the crop looks like).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation is in shared bedrooms - one for women and the other for guys - in our family building in the town of Altamura. At the end of the harvest (or during raining days) there will be day trips and walking tours of nearby towns and enjoy meals prepared with seasonal Puglian ingredients and organic/farm produce. We are located in the 'heel' of the Italian boot and is 15 minutes from the world Unesco site of Matera and 15 minutes from the town of Altamura famous for its bread. We are set on 25 hectares of rolling hills in the area of Altamura rich in history and archaeology and Southern Italian culture. Some nights will be spent at either, a traditional festival, a music festival, a walk in town, or dinner, wine tasting, olive oil tasting etc......

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Apart from the work we will give guided visits the explore the landscape of the region and to discover the history and the artistic heritage of the territory
    - Walking tour in the historic district of Altamura and Museum;
    - Visit at the Neanderthal skeleton site: "l'Uomo di Altamura";
    - Visit of the picturesque town of Gravina and excursion to the archeological site of Botromagno;
    - Walking tour in the "Sassi of Matera" (Unesco site)

    Altamura is a town with a population of 70,000, in Puglia region, in the province of Bari
    - at Bari Airport (BRI) via Rome, London, Munich, and other European connections.
    - at main train station Bari Centrale and from here to Altamura with FAL train;
    - from Rome (Stazione Tiburtina) to Altamura: bus Autolinee Marozzi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 9855552964cb