Become part of our project to revive this historical building in Bohemia, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a small castle built in the 14th century on the edge of the forest and right next to the river Elbe in Bohemia. It has been in the family since 1409. In May 2021 we (Max and Lotta) moved from Germany to the Czech Republic to breathe life back into this historic place. We wish to bring together a like-minded community that is willing to develop this project with us. At the moment, we focus on the renovation of several accommodations as well as the restoration of the gothic part of the castle. At the same time, we would like to beautify the castle grounds and make them attractive for visitors.

    For now we are exclusively looking for people with renovation know-how (electricians, plumbers, carpenters, etc.). We ourselves do not have that much expertise yet, therfore we cannot teach our volunteers much. This will hopefully change soon! ;)
    (This is a personal project, our volunteers won't be working on any business activities we have.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy telling you all about the history of the place, showing you this historic building and introducing you to life with the animals. At the same time, we are looking forward to learning from your skills, improving our craftsmanship under guidance and contributing your ideas to our project.

    We are looking for open-minded people that enjoy nature, history and cultural exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we focus on the renovation of several community accommodations (for volunteers) as well as the restoration of the gothic part of the castle. At the same time, we would like to beautify the castle grounds at which we are living on. Therefore, we are looking especially for skilled or professionals that can support us with the renovation works.
    Furthermore, we are looking for people who would like to stay for long-term. Either start an own project or business on the grounds (e.g. café, workshops, brewery, etc.) or as a community manager who is looking after our short-term volunteers.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Czech: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are various private as well as shared accommodations as well as a shared bathroom, toilets and a shared kitchen. (Soon there will hopefully be an additional communal kitchen outside). There are two double bed rooms as well as two rooms with two single beds each. In addition, there is a study room that can be used for computer work if needed. Three of the accommodations are equipped with Wi-Fi. Furthermore, there is also a workshop that can be used by everyone.

    Bicycles can be borrowed to go shopping in the nearby village or for excursions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The castle is surrounded by forest and fields and is nestled right next to the Elbe river in a small village of the same name - Lobkovice. Prague is only 25 km to the south and can be comfortably reached in 30 minutes by car or public transport. Dresden is located 140 km away, easily accessible by motorway or train from Prague. Modern infrastructure with supermarkets, a drug store, a pharmacy, and a hospital is just 15 minutes walk from the chateau. There are several tourist attractions around Lobkovice, e.g. Chateau Brandýs nad Labem and Chateau Mělník.

    It is very helpful to come with an own car since we are located in the countyside.
    The number of volunteers at the chateau vary a lot. If possible, come with (a) friend(s).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a seperate office room that can be used when working from home office (in addition to private bedrooms - most of them also have desks). There is a stable internet connection. The speedtest showed the following results: Download - 21.1 Mbps & Upload - 5,1 Mbps.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We welcome all kinds of pets, but they must get along with the animals on the farm. Dogs should not have too much of a hunting instinct. There are chickens, peacocks, rabbits, sheep, goats and cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 985386492159