Help my Mum in her tiny garden, around the house and with languages in Bungoma, Kenya

Country

Kenya

updated  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is Home stay, which is located in Bungoma County, just 2km from Bungoma town Centre.

    We have a small upcoming music studio on our property that my young sister runs it hence leaving mum alone most of the time during daytime, also my big sister stays at home but busier day time as she is a school teacher in a very remote school there, hence leaves too early and back too late at home, thus needing a company at home and also helping her with house chores and on her small vegetable garden too, as she likes cooking, be sure to enjoy great meals with her. Myself am busy working in the capital city (Nairobi) which is 10 hours drive to home, hence I visit her only after fortnight. She is such a nice charming old lady who is in her early 70s but lots of energy as one in 60s.

    My mum is blessed with 12 children, we are 8 wonderful daughters and 4 brothers, all working away from home apart from my two above named sisters, hence occasionally we visit her on different and varied occasion, apart from December where we visit her at least half of us as some are abroad. We such a lovely big warm family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being located strategically, volunteers during free time can go hiking, it so near mt. Elgon, a wonderful National part at 40 minutes drive, beautiful waterfalls within reach, free bicycle at your disposal and those who love children can visit the local school with my big sister where she teaches and have a couching and mentor-ship forum with them, not forgetting wonderful country walks too.

    Also either before and/or after taking a volunteer to our home shall gladly give you guided tours within Nairobi and its environs.

  • Help

    Help

    Elderly Companion
    Driving mum to various places (church, shopping,visiting)
    Little gardening (tiny backyard has vegetables)
    shopping
    help in the house
    teaching music in music studio (if you talented)
    Charity work (accompany her on visits of some charity org.)
    General maintenance
    teach her computer and internet usage
    others your heart desires to help a senior citizen

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Swahili

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have enough spare beds with very comfortable beddings for you, Guest house has two Bunk beds available for use an extra separate private room, available too. Meals well catered for.

    Being a family home we are very much pleased to have everyone be it a solo traveler regardless of your sex, couples or family visiting this lovely warm Bungoma County.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We got good experiences with couchsurfers and also with Foreign exchange students (from; France, South Africa, Argentina, Uk) so are used to having visitors join our family now and then.

    Respect family rule and we are conservative and modesty in the way we dress, hence expect the same from volunteers.

    Our home is non smoking zone, hence if you must you are allowed to go outside the gate to smoke, and be careful to read signs while in the streets too as kenya has smoking designated zones, its illegal to smoke anyway anytime.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4days a week

myself at Computer lap
My Dearest Mum and my baby Sister (Christer)
Bracelets that one of our Chinese guest taught us to weave, so lovely! my big sister being a fast learner is almost becoming an expert in making them now
Preparing some meat for BBQ

Host ref number: 981581173582