Help on a small farm, just off State highway in Taumarunui, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Stephen, a father of two adult children who are currently living in Europe. I have 50 acres of land set high above the township of Taumaranui in central North Island.
    I have about 20 cows and there calves on my property who are like children to me. My other hobby is playing golf.
    I'm friendly and easygoing and really enjoy meeting new people, and am always up for a chat! However if you prefer some quiet time, then I am happy for you to have that.
    My property has views in all directions, mostly distant tree dotted mountains. The property is great for nature lovers and those who enjoy the peace of rural living.
    You can easily walk to town (2 minutes) where there are supermarkets, shops, cafes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning about animal care, general farming.

  • Help

    Help

    Spraying weeds around the farm. Cutting scrub
    Helping with stock.
    Helping make hay .
    Building work/maintenance.
    There are always so many things requiring attention.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom, shared bathroom, kitchen and living.
    Meals generally eaten together, however I do leave for work very early, so you are on your own for breakfast. But I will provide the food :-)
    Unlimited wifi.
    Property is almost in Town and easy to acces from State Highway 4

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This region has many adventures available, such as kayaking, white water rafting, cycle tracks, walks, the Tongariro crossing is close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 981189164145