Extra farm hands wanted in Leics, England


United Kingdom

Favourited 97 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hey people and animals alike! We is looking to turn lower Lodge farm into a sustainable work experience project building thermos efficient and unique architecture and living facilities, tidying and renovation the area to make it more tranquil and in general encourage community participation and sustainable living here on the land. We want to help and provide a haven for those of you who have practical interests but not the space or resources to pursue those ideas. In exchange for 5 hours of work a day, you get home cooked meals and fresh produce, transport privileges, and lodging, other facilities are pending but the more interest We get and the more people who help, the more amenities there will be.. .I'm also implementing temporary wash facility presently If you are interested in sustainability carpentry, farming, permaculture agronomy, anything practical creative!

    *️️️️I should mention that the farm is a working arable farm that family member works hard to maintain and thar be tractors and such during summer coming and going So just be aware.ultimately it would grand to interlink the two enterprises someday and respect for each other is very important for that development, amongst individuals and also respect for the tools we use and the environment we live in. Symbiosis is an integral part of harmony and that is something I wish to cultivate here on the farm. So too If there is Integration of old ideas and new ideas there is peace AND efficiency ! Double whammy
    Thanksyou for reading if we don't get back to you right away we sorry.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    there are infinite benefits to going somewhere unfamiliar to you! Here in particular is a very traditional part of England my mum especially makes smashing English meals and cakes, we are also quite out in the sticks so I imagine this place would be very strange but wonderful to those of you from a city who have never seen a chicken,. being here you have the ability to learn anything you wish and also many ings you didn't expect or aren't even aware you are learning at first, because this a very immersive experience where I wish to encourage you to see where your food comes from as well as whom grows it and what they are like! How it feels to be Ina field with only birds singing and Trees rustling. Ultimately this kind of experience I expect teaches you a great deal about yourself which is probably the most important thing there is to learn.

  • Help


    Here at the moment there is a cheeky horse named ziggy who's a dude and likes meeting new people, 2pigs who are love a belly rub, about 10 chickens, 8 ducks, 2 geese-Ghandi and Norma , 4 dogs and an old cat. I look after the animals everyday and sometimes I need someone to either help me or take over duties when Me or my sister not here ,since my mum is older now and it can be hard work . ideally, someone who prefers the company of animals such as I do would be most suited to this job cause they are very friendly and love to be loved and happy animals contribute to happy environment! also initiative is key! Think! If something looks like it needs bedding food or some fuss ,don't ask, just do it man!
    This is the only specific regular duty, other than that there is a lot of opportunity to be creative , there is a lot of scrap to b used of disposed of, trees for pruning and used for timber and carpentry(, we are looking to build a traditional foot pedal lathe), murals to be painted, a lot of landscaping and gardening and beautifying, house tidying General cleaning maintainence, sweeping...
    Do not hesitate to tell us your interests and where you think you'd be suited, when you first arrive there will be a trial for a couple of days as you get settled andwe get to know you better.
    Hope this is enough info for now thankyou please

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, small German, small Russian , but willing to learn from any language barrier if they work like ox

  • Accommodation


    Currently there is a caravan that is very livable with furry walls and electricity, there is a cabin which has extra capacity and a communal outdoor area, there is a teepee for those of you who prefer a more subsistent living. Other than this I am very interested in architecture and would encourage anybody who comes here with an idea and the practical knowledge and or interest to build there own ! Either from old trucks , timber , even well formed trees can Bee used for tree houses, obviously these structures should be seen to fruition and should be stable and water tight in England! There is always place under cover for those who are keen to come but don't mind roughing it old school on a straw bail in the barn. Toilet facilities are portable at the moment but I'm looking to build compost toilet and any other ideas I'd appreciate for simple and efficient hygiene facilites. Two meals a day will be provided, sometimes extra picnics and lunches when big jobs are undertaken, vegetarian vegan can be catered for and learned from?.usually breakfast is after morning duties so who ever doing morning duties gets up earliest but eats first! Dinner is flexible..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Saturday and Sunday is days off except for the more duties whoever doing them. Market Harborough is the local town which has lovely market most days and special continental markets sometimes. Supermarket is there , so too is train station ( hour from London) parks, clubs pubs etc. It's about 5 miles away and you can either catch a lift with soneonr, borrow a vehicle or ride bikes, it's not far and it's a great ride around here anyway!
    Leicester is nearest city and has national space centre , climbing, golden mile-big Indian market , as well as good bus station to travel onwards.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 979166869451