Join our family in Pajala, the north of Sweden and help with babysitting, house painting and scraping. Perhaps also some gardening. Etc.

Country

Sweden

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    At the moment we need a workaway to come over from around 25th of June and stay for 2-3 weeks.
    Please contact us as soon as possible if these dates are good for you!

    We are a family of six who live approximatley 40 km north of the Artic circle.
    A couple in our middle thirtys and 40+ and our four children age 13, 7, 6 and 2.
    Our oldest son is very active and loves playing football above all other things. He also plays the guitar. We have two pianos in the house.

    We value our family time and like both hard work and relaxing during our holiday. Usually I work fulltime and my man works part time. Our children go to school and nursery while we are at work.

    During SUMMER TIME you can experience lovely summers nights that never end as the midnight sun stays up all night.
    However we go to bed rather early cause of the early mornings with kids.
    You can enjoy bike rides in our village, approximatley 6000 people live in the borough of Pajala, so it is a very quiert place.
    We enjoy staying at home or traveling when we are not at work.

    Micke is a very hard working man who loves home. He is an electrician.

    Sarah likes travelling when she can. As she has been ill a long time (lungs) she needs to get fit and do more exercise again. Sarah works at school as a guidence councilor.

    Take a walk in the beautiful forest and appreciate some quiet time to yourself. Great possibility to meditate and admire the nature. If you’re lucky you might see wild animals of the north, such as moose, reindeer, squirrel, hare and maybe even a bear but then you need to be in forest.
    This place is ideal for a person who needs or likes a peaceful and tranquil stay.
    Celebrate Swedish midsummer with us (if you are here then) and maybe even one of the biggest markets in the north (if you are over during that time, first weekend in July).

    WINTER TIME, prepare for cold weather, it can get up to -40 celcius and we have experienced extreem cold, -1999 when it reached -50 celcius. End of December, but specially January and beginning of Febuary can be cold months, usually round -30.
    In the winter you can enjoy the snow, skiing, build a cave, go sleighing. End of Febuary- April are the nicest months to enjoy the snow and outside as it's not so cold then. Try icefishing, skiing or maybe a ride on the snowmobile. Help us indoors these cold months and to shovel snow in our garden.

    We are looking for volunteers with a great work attitude who can help us to scrape and repaint our house (summertime). Wintertime, decorate and repair house indoors. Also normal housework such as laundry, tidying. Keeping kids happy by palying football, floorball, painting, singing, reading books etc. Exercise and education is important for us to give our children appart from the most important thing: love! of course.

    It’s very important for us that you are happy with your stay and that we are happy with your work, that’s why we value honesty and an open dialogue to improve both ways.
    We are hoping to make new friends for life, learn about a new culture and to teach about our country and life in north of Sweden.

    We would like to have one vouunteer at the time. Although we may take two volunteers, couples are ok but we could take two volunteers from different places. If that is the case then this means you need to be a friendly and outgoing person who gets on well with others.
    You might be sharing our cosy caravan (ONLY DURING SUMMER TIME) with the other volunteer, if we can get hold of two, if not you will be living in the caravan on your own OR in our home. However we will let you know before you come over.
    WINTERTIME, you will be staying in our home (if you are two you will share the room).
    We would like to have you staying with us for at least 2 weeks ( a possibility of extending to 3 or more if you and we wish).

    We prefere someone who doesn't smoke with a decent language (i.e. no swearing) as we have 4 young children in the house. Of course you need to be child friendly! and enjoy kids.

    Preferably we would like you to have experience from decorating and repairing houses, or remaking funiture or other skills that could make a old house look nice. Also gardening (summertime) as we need to get our garden redone after digging it up due to very uneven ground.

    We are against drugs!
    But Sarah can enjoy a drink when kids are in bed or if she is to go out for the evening.
    Micke does not drink.

    Looking forward to hearing from you and hopefully also meeting YOU in the north of Sweden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Other
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak fluent english at home, mainly Sarah with the children.
    They will experience the beautiful north. We live north of the artic circle. Midnight sun summertime and northen lights during winter time.

  • Help

    Help

    Painting work: Our volunteers will first be scraping old paint off from our house walls, then repainting the whole house. This is our very main priority during summer.
    Other tasks such as housework may take place when the house gets finished.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living in our family Caravan. You might be sharing this with another volunteer (you can bring your own friend or partner if suitable for volunteer work).
    In our caravan we have 2 comfortable beds. There's also table+seats. (The beds get turned into either bed or table and seats).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    See the midnight sun is something that you get to experience in this part of the world.
    Also beautiful forest. We live close to Torne river. Kengis rapids are only 15min away by car. We will take you to Vassikkavuoma which is the largest mowing mire in the north of Europe, one of our favourit places for a barbeque.

    Pajala is a small village with friendly people. We live central in a big house.

    Celebrate Swedish midsummers by traditional dancing round the midsummers pole, 22 of June -2018.
    Pajala Market takes place the first weekend of July and is the biggest event of the year in Pajala.
    If you want you can also go fishing, bike riding or walking/running while enjoying the nature around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is the laundry at our old house but our laundry is pretty much the same now. There's alot of clothes to be washed and folded and put away with 4 children. We have lots to do daily in our home, such as housework, so great to have an extra person helping while we get a new friend, perhaps for life. :-)
Micke working in our house, redoing a room. We have lots of renovating to get done but we also have four children (one baby) so we need an extra hand to keep everyone pleased while Micke gets the renovating done.
This is the closest to a bear that I've ever come.
Our son plays in a football team in Pajala, twice a week. During summertime he takes part in a football-week where they train Monday-Friday. A volunteer once drove him there every day and waited until he finished, then drove him back again. It's about 60 km one way.
A picknick in Kassa. It's about 19 km from Pajala.
Kardis village. A beautiful spot by the river with a hut.
The beautiful rapids in Kengis. Approx. 12 km from our house. We will take you on a trip to Kengis if you wish to.
Torne River. This picture is taken in Kardis, a village where we both grew up. Now our parents live in Kardis and it's 35 km from Pajala.
The traditional midsummer pole, we often celebrate midsummers eve at Kardis village hall, you are welcome to celebrate with us however we celebrate (end of June).
One of the wild animals around here are mooses.




Host ref number: 688858746864