Learn about off grid living in our own paradise Mpumalanga, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Gordon, Margaret & son Scottie have finally found their own piece of paradise in the mountain kingdom of Tonteldoos, Mpumalanga. We are organic and off grid and working towards becoming fully self sustainable. We have our own vegetable gardens, fruit trees, vines & berries. We also have a few cattle and sheep and lots of horses, cats & dogs! We also cut and bail hay to sustain the farm and provide winter feed for the animals. Margaret has been running horse trails for the last year and we have recently acquired a restaurant/coffee shop in the village which is keeping us busy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Margaret is a vetinary nurse and an experienced horsewoman with over 40 years of riding experience. She is also a knowledgable gardener and teacher of organic gardening methods. She has studied herbology and natural health and produces her own tinctures and organic health products. She is more than willing to share her knowledge and experience. Tonteldoos is located in the mountains at 1800M and is stunningly beautiful with a very healthy climate and relatively high rain fall. The area has recently attracted a number of new inhabitants, both young and old who wish to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and relocate to a quiet country lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lifestyle farm which includes organic gardens, horse trail riding & a small restaurant/coffee shop where we market our products. We are looking for a young woman who can manage and ride the horses as well as helping out in the shop. Prior riding experience is essential. Gordon works in the city during the week and commutes home at weekends and Margaret and Scottie (12 years old) are permanently on the farm. With the acquisition of the shop we are short of an extra set of hands.....

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & Afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either a room in the main house with a private bathroom or a garden cottage. We eat a predominantly plant based diet and you can eat what we eat and can supplement this with whatever you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We (Gordon, Margaret and Scottie) have a small off grid lifestyle farm located in the mountains at Tonteldoos which is on the border of Mpumalanga & Limpopo provinces. The village consists of a shop, bottle store and a pub as well as our small restaurant/coffee shop. Dullstroom which is a very popular tourist destination, is 20km away and the nearest cities are Lydenburg (70km) and Middelburg (90km). Everything is within walking distance and should you need to go to the city there is always someone with whom you can catch a lift.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 977694574815