Looking for dog handler during winter! Come and enjoy farm, construction, painting and household while being surrounded by nature in Lakene, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    367

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Melissa and Maurice, 34 and 37 years old, 9 years ago we moved to Sweden from the Netherlands, We live on a small farm in the middle of the beautiful hills and lakes of Värmland with 22 sled dogs (mostly Greenland dogs) , chickens, and a cat. Our dogs are for hobby and competition (no Tourist work).

    During the winter season we can use help with our dogs, taking care of the dogs feeding cleaning kennels, joining on training. We do not let anyone train our dogs by themselves but you can help us during training and join us.
    It can also be possible that we will be out on competition but wont be able to bring all of the dogs with us and need help to take care of them while we are gone.

    If you apply for winter season we would like to to be with us for at least mid january untill mid march.

    There won't be extreme amounts pf work during winter so we are more open to a single workawayer but are open for couples to apply

    During summer season we need people that help with building projects, painting and gardening.

    We have space and work for 2 people during the summer

    both seasons can also involve some house work depending on how much other work there is.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience the Beautiful nature of sweden, learn more about sled dogs and the life on the country side.

  • Help

    Help

    (summer help)
    There is Always help around the house like gardening/cutting gras and helping in our vegetable garden, chopping Wood, helping to take care of the animals, construction work, cleaning dog yards, helping with the household. We always have building projects running like building dog houses, fences, painting the house and more.
    An important thing is that you can handle dogs if needed, most of our dogs live in kennels outside and we have 4 dogs inside our house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a little cabin on our property that has electricity but no running water (we have an separate entrance to bathroom in our main house).

    We stick to a vegan diet ourselves but please know that there will be a lot of meat handling, our dogs eat a lot of a raw meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live quite remote and there is no public transportation. It would be good if you would have your own car but not mandatory. but we do want you to have a driving licence in case of emergency when we are not home.

    The closest Town is 25km from our house. There are hiking trails, during summer, you may like to visit a moose park, Horseback riding, swimming or canoeing. There are many outdoor activities around.

    During Winter time you might want to go on a dog sled tour with us or rent a snow scooter for a day or maybe go skiing.

    We have wifi acces in the main house.


    Please do NOT apply for the months marked in Red!

    We also like a zoom/teams meeting for interview.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    depending on the situation and how many pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week max







Host ref number: 971798177567