Idyllic place and permaculture garden at Nesodden, near Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English/Norwegian family, Richard and Andrea, who are interested in permaculture, folk music, literature, nature, food, people and the big mystery of life. We moved to this beautiful place to years ago, and wish to welcome people taking personal responsibility for sustainable living.
    We would prefer couples.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are involved in Permaculture gardening, care of the earth and biodiversity. The workawayer will have the opportunity to help in problem solving and development of our plans for the garden and buildings. We are active in local music and folk music from around the world.

  • Help

    Help

    We need seasonal help with the garden which is designed on permaculture principles. The garden is just under an acre with vegetables, fruit trees and bushes and flowerbeds. We have some larger projects including construction of a poly tunnel. We have a garage and workshop which need a major tidy up and shelves put up and some simple carpentry. We also have have some bikes that need repair which are then free to use. Projects for the spring include fencing (our garden gets visits from moose and roe deer) and finishing a pond with drainage ditches.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One room with double bed, and an attic with mattress, plus a living room with a fridge and possibility to make coffee or tea. Shared kitchen, bathroom and washing machine. Our guests must take responsibility that they tidy and clean after they have used communal rooms.
    We would like to have one meal together every day. Food for 2 more meals will be available in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 15 minutes from the sea, with the possibility to swim and fish. The nearest shop is 15 minutes walk.
    There is a bus stop outside the house. It takes an hour with bus and ferry to get to the centre of Oslo. The bus goes every 1/2 hour. The house lies in a rural area with beautiful woods and lakes close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 969471226734