We'd love someone to speak English to our children and help with childcare in Bari, the capital of Puglia, southern Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, me and my husband and our children, two 7 year old twins and a 2 year old baby girl.
    We live in Bari, the capital of Puglia, in southern Italy. A beautiful city by the sea from which it is easy to move around to get to know the whole Region, vey rich in cultural, historical and landscape heritage.
    Bari is 4 hours from Rome - the capital of Italy - by train, 1 hour by airplane.
    We live in a large apartment in the center of the city of Bari, near the station railway, to cinemas, theaters, to the most important shops, near the sea.
    I teach public law at university, my husband is a lawyer.
    The twins are in the second grade school, while the little one will go to kindergarten. In the afternoon they are busy with homework and activities like yoga, swim, mini-volley and theater workshop.
    We are curious people of the world, we like to travel and have new experiences.
    We love to go to the cinema, teathre, museums, and to spend every free moment with our children in joy.We are passionate about the sea, we practice boating and sailing, often on the weekend we go sailing with the whole family.
    We never had experience in workaway, but we had two au pair, the first from Ungheria, and the second from Perù, two lovely girls that have been a part of our family and that will be for ever in our heart.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The traveler will have the opportunity to get to know one of the most beautiful regions in Italy and to live with people who love mutual cultural exchange favored by experiences of coexistence with people from all over the world.
    The traveler will be able to attend a very effective Italian course during the morning (we have already done it for the previous Peruvian au pair)

  • Help

    Help

    Our workaway has the fundamental task of teaching English to our children, through play, music, dance, drawing, stimulating their curiosity and creativity in every possible way.
    So far our children have attended English courses, but now we have chosen to have an au pair at home because speaking English every day, not just for an hour a week during the course, we hope that learning is easier and faster.
    In the morning our workaway will be free, except that the children are at home (school holidays, fever). In the afternoon she will be busy with the children sharing her homework with our historic baby sitter (For example, one will stay at home with the baby, the other will accompany the twins in the pool).If my husband and I have evening engagements outside the home (cinema, theater, dinner outside, etc.) the workaway will have to look after the children.
    Our children are very calm, polite and nice.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workaway will have a small room with a single bed, a wardrobe, a chair, a wall-mounted TV, with a private bathroom with toilet, shower and sink.
    She will be able to join the family for meals, and will also be able to help cook, only if she loves to do so.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Living in Bari the traveler will be able to know the beauties of the city (the sea, the historic center, the Petruzzelli theater, the Basilica of San Nicola, etc. etc.) and easily, by train or bus, visit wonderful apulian cities such as Trani, Polignano a Mare, Monopoli Ostuni, Lecce, Otranto, Santa Maria di Leuca, Gallipoli, ecc.
    Bari is also only 1 hour by bus from Matera, capital of culture 2019, 1 hour by air from Rome, capital l of Italy, and 1.30 hour by air from Milan, the most important commercial city in Italy

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 968177463735