updated   Last minute

Join our family raising our own food on the beach in Wai'anae, Hawaii, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 749 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Aloha! We are a family who raises our own food right here on the beach in Hawai’i. We have rabbits, pigs, ducks, quail, turkeys, and lots and lots of chickens. I’m working on getting more fruit and veggies growing but the trees are still young so not giving much.

    I started back at work now that my children are older and have found I could use some help with the care of the plants, house, and animals. We live in a town with the highest amount of native Hawaiians in the state and the best weather and beaches. Our home is located across the street from a gorgeous secluded beach and a small mountain hike that is perfect for sunset.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Omgoodness, this area is full of cultural opportunities and it’s my passion. I can teach you the proper etiquette for exploring the natural wonders, heiaus, hikes, dives if you are scuba certified, how to make leis from natural fibers and flowers etc

    We have a fully stocked library of Hawaiiana in the rooms downstairs where you stay. Books on the animals, plants, history, hikes, myths, and legends of this area. It is also a way for you to get extra excited about coming. read about these things ahead of time. It makes your stay that much deeper and more authentic.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AS TO WHAT TASKS ARE EXPECTED AND HOUSEHOLD RULES. PLEASE ONLY RESPOND IF IT ALIGNS WITH YOU PERFECTLY. I don't mean to be harsh but we get so many people that copy and paste messages to each host or just talk about themselves that I need to put this message here. In your email, if you can title your email with your name and your requested dates, it really helps me organize all the requests. Thank you.

    If you email without reading the profile in its entirety and email accordingly, I will feel like you sent a copy/paste message and I won't host you. You will just receive an automated message response saying that you didn't read my profile and good luck in the future.

    Preference to two people traveling together, skilled or experienced labor, and longer stays with current reviews. It does not mean you should not apply if you don't fit into these funnels.

    Curious about backyard small-scale home farming including poultry as livestock?

    Wanna learn what it takes to plan, maintain and run? Not afraid of dirty work?

    Are you reliable, trustworthy, and strong?

    Are you a hard worker? I mean do you move fast, efficiently, and fiercely with attention to detail?!

    Two-week minimum commitment as it’s a lot of energy for me to teach

    Examples of responsibilities could be:

    Feeding and watering many ducks, quail, chickens, rabbits

    Sanitizing feed and water containers and habitats

    Turning animal manure into healthy fertilizer

    Cleaning out animals coops

    Learning how to diagnose basic bird disease and treat

    Planting, pruning, fertilizing, mulching, and harvesting fruit trees

    Starting seedlings and transplanting

    Gaining knowledge on weeds. Most can be made into medicine or food. Removing them from places they shouldn’t be and feed the animals with them

    Collecting, washing, and packaging eggs from all the birds

    Basic repairs on cages as needed

    Mowing, weed whacking, sweeping (so much sweeping)

    Helping maintain the community living space an hour a day or so. (not counted in hours as you will be using the living room, kitchen, bathrooms just like at home.)

    Maintaining a live compost pile

    Handy(wo)man skills

    Ethically harvesting birds (if you’re comfortable with it)-absolutely optional

    Deep cleaning inside the house for the family including our personal bathrooms and bedrooms

    Random things that I need help with like washing cars, dogs, organizing inside the house, etc


  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak English well and since it is all I speak, I will be sharing it :) I wish I had the bandwidth to learn another language but I do not. My daughter however is a second-year Japanese student so knowing Japanese would be helpful and could count as your hours if you're willing and able to teach it.

  • Accommodation


    Private entranced, beautiful, well maintained shared large bedroom with small walk-in closet, two beds, microwave, and mini-fridge. The commitment for the room is 25 hours per person each week. Shared bathroom with the other room downstairs. Shared kitchen in main living space.

    Security cameras on property and gates help keep everyone safe but the neighborhood has some houseless folk that can be visually rough if you're not used to it. No danger to your person but you don't want to leave things in your car or loose on the beach.

    I cook dinner most nights for the family anyway and have always included our work-trade friends. I LOVE when guests cook for us and each guest is expected to cook once a week per person not counted in hours. That way most nights you get cooked for by me or the other guests and then you reciprocate. It makes for a very tight community bonding experience. That said, if you are out and about and exploring, just text me and let me know you won't be home for dinner so I don't plan on you being here to eat.

    If there are dietary restrictions, it may be overwhelming for me. For example, vegetarianism is easy enough for me to adjust to for some meals but veganism or allergies are stressful and you'd be responsible for any special food and cooking it. I cook mainly dishes from the farm. So fresh veggies, side starch, and a small animal protein. I love to cook and with help on the farm, I will have more bandwidth to do so. Breakfast and lunch are the responsibility of our guests to care for themselves and to clean their own dishes and wipe down the stove and counters afterward. Fresh chicken, duck, and quail eggs are always available. I am happy to provide food for you but specialty foods will be the responsibility of the guests.

    Please note that this is a real small-scale farm so you will have roosters crowing at 2 am, smell animal smells, and get dirty while you are helping. It is not a petting zoo type of farm but a small-scale working farm emphasis on working lol

    Things to bring or buy the first day:

    Hydroflask for keeping large amounts of water cool and handy (trust me on this)

    Earplugs/white noise machine if you are a light sleeper (roosters crow all night)

    Sunscreen and bug spray as you are in the tropics ( we keep everything super clean and have bug zappers but all hikes have bugs and even if people have a tan, the sun hits differently here)

    Closed-toed shoes but also flip flops (we call them slippahs here)

    Shorts with elastic band for ease of movement
    Tank tops or yoga tops
    Sunhat if you want. I don't use one but I have had guests who really like having theirs

    US sim card if your phone is foreign. Walmart carries them here on the island

    Your personal soap, shampoo, conditioner, toilet paper (usually 2 rolls per week, you can take the center cardboard out of the rolls to make packing more efficient or there is a store across the street) etc
    Laundry soap if you want to use the laundry on-site. I don't charge for the water, power etc but please just buy your own laundry soap etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live across the street from the beach, the bus line is within 150’ and takes you anywhere on the island but takes a while, hikes across the street, waterfalls within 2 miles, camping is near as well. It’s the countryside in Hawai'i and everything you think it is :)

    Expectations are that we are a family so please be well mannered, non-smoker of anything even E-Cigs, not religious, kind, not a partier, communicative, help clean up after meals like good guests, and connected. We want to learn from you as well! I know it sounds like a lot to absorb but we have hosted a lot and know what works and makes everyone happy. COMMUNICATION! Can't wait to have fun!

    There is a truck and small sedan available to rent daily or hourly but absolutely no pressure. It’s there if you want but the bus system is too. Most of the time the workaway guests chip in so it doesn’t cost anyone much. Again, this isn’t mandatory or expected. Just if you want. Turo is also an option on the island and getting more affordable but have to rent it by the week etc. It used to be crazy high.

    Transportation to and from the airport can be costly if you take Uber or Lyft and the bus is long but cheap. I cannot pick you up. The bus is called The Bus and you can find the routes online. After accepted, I will send my address for you to start planning.

    Please reach out to me with any questions or if you see my calendar is filled for the dates you want, I don't mind you reaching out if you just acknowledge that you are aware its booked but just wanted to check to see if any changes have happened.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high-speed internet and wfh as well. I’m in mortgage and my husband is in marketing. Our kids have virtual school.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have free parking available

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 965753672181

Feedback (48)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Like minded helpers welcome to make our place sustainable in Bostic, North Carolina, USA
Volunteer at non-profit farm animal sanctuary on Big Island, Hawaii, USA