Aquaponic project and organic farming in Karnataka, India

Country

India

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The project had begun in Aug 2018 , we work towards using the least resources and making the most out of it. We have a 10,000 sqft Aquaponic greenhouse where we grow tomatoes, chillies, cucumber, beans, radish, potato, onions, garlic, chamomile, thyme, mint, etc. We currently use Media beds, DWC, NFT and Dutch buckets. We are very flexible with timings and the volunteers are encouraged to make their own meals from whatever is available at the Greenhouse. We do have some activities around the farm like badminton, snooker, table tennis, etc. Volunteers would be provided basic South Indian meals if they wish to consume, otherwise they can make their own meals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm really inspired with most/any outdoor activities like exercising, yoga, slacking, athletics, etc. We could indulge in activities and hopefully benefit from each other. Also we do have a diverse environment where people work from different states in India.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers are most welcome to help us out with daily activities in the greenhouse like scouting, feeding fish, sowing, harvesting, transplanting, basic plumbing, cleaning up, organising, etc. Also we do have a small patch of soil farming where we do require need for attention.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Bengali (Bangla): Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Gujarati: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Kannada: Fluent
    Malayalam: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will either get a twin sharing room with an attached bathroom or they would get a tent with a common bathroom around. Food will be served at the dining area, all food cooked will be basic South Indian meals. Volunteers may have to share room with other volunteers. Tents are provided with bedding and blankets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located on the outskirts of Bengaluru. For going to the heart of Bengaluru, local transport is available for easy access. At the city center volunteers may go for shopping, events, cafes, restaurants, museum, art galleries, etc. Bengaluru has a lot to offer for everyone. In your off time, you may also visit nearby cities and villages like Mysore, etc. At the farm, we all like our work and we indulge in all sorts of activities related to farming, getting dirty.Its a very friendly environment mostly consisting of young people who are interested in learning and practicing farming to be food secure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Free WiFi and office space availaible.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 964722492287