1 / 4

Come and share your permaculture experience and help us with gardening in Texas, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 30 times
  • Last activity: 03/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Come and stay on a small ranch in central Texas with a happily married couple in late middle age who are both therapists! We have traveled a lot ourselves and speak a little Spanish and Dutch. We love to share meals and enjoy great conversations! There is a hot tub and a beautiful forest with Longhorn cows in the next pasture.. Our place has gorgeous old Live Oak trees and beautiful spots to relax and enjoy Nature.
    We have already started building a food forest and a garden but we would really appreciate new ideas and suggestions for these and/or further projects! We are considering building a couple small cabins, a house to protect the well and the water storage tank, further gardens and wood mulching larger areas to create soil.
    You can stay at our home and help us set up a beautiful deluxe tent for future use.
    We live very close to three rivers and a large lake. We have a kayaks if you want to explore that way! There are also a couple cute towns nearby!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are great conversationalists, we are very active and have lots to share and to learn! We are fairly new to permaculture so any wisdom will be deeply appreciated! We are happy to show you around town, cook and feed you great food, and we could teach one another new languages! You will get a great taste of Texas hospitality!

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with some of the following projects:
    Assisting in building a well house and maybe a small rustic cabin, setting up a large tent, gardening, pouring concrete, organizing a shed, moving compost, planting trees, planting vegetables, and possibly using a bobcat to create a pond...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If the large tent has not been set up then you would stay in the guest room of our small house, with a lovely back porch to yourself. The bathroom, kitchen and living area will be shared. We have a billiard and ping pong table set up in the main room for play time! And a hot tub when it is cold outside!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy to show you around the area, including the local rivers and Texas towns! Possible use of a car if necessary!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do have satellite internet but we have a pretty reasonable amount of data per month (50G) and you can add more if necessary or I can take you to town sometimes to a coffee shop.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a hookup for 30 Amp rv's. Also lots of nice spots to choose from for tents or vans! We have a site location prepared for a 50 Amp rv but it is still in the making.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 964649889937

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








House and dog-sitting in a beautiful spot overlooking the river in Cascade, Montana, USA
Render some help to our easy going family and Explore The Bronx, New York , USA.