Get a real immersion helping a local family with gardening and animal care in Morne-à-L'eau, Guadeloupe

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a local familly leaving in the deep countryside in the middle of nature looking for help in gardening, animals care and maintenance of our house.
    The familly is compose of my eldery (but autonomous) parents, my sister and me. I'm a travel lover (one world tour and many long stays mainly in South America) and a expert user of Couchsurfing.
    We live in a big estate (more than 10 hectares) in the city of Morne-à-L'eau, in the center of Grande-Terre. Its a quiet, and peacefull area, full of vegetation. We try to live in harmony with the nature around us and in self-sufficiency with our production. Indeed we have some cattle and a little garden that we try to develop. We also have cats and dogs.
    In the house, you will have your own room and we expect you to share the meals with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We all was born and grew up in Guadeloupe, so we can give you a real experience of the local way of live, for exemple with our traditions, the food, the fruits and vegetable that you will only find in Guadeloupe or even in our home, the language (French and Creole) or the place to visit.
    I'm personnaly a salsa dancer, so I can give you all the tips for that activity.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Gardening : help in our garden, plant, pick and clear vegetable for our own consumption. Fruits harvest also.
    - Animal Care : feed and take care of our little cattle (chickens, pigs, goats, cows, rabbits, ...)
    - Farious help in and arroud the house to maintain it or to build/maintain housing for the animals.
    As my parents are eldery, you are expect to have good contact with people not from your generation ;-)
    We expext a average of 3 hours of help per day. Planning will be decided at the beginning of the week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Me and my familly are languages lovers. I'm personnaly interested in Portugease, italian and polish. We will be glad to teach you some words of Creole, the local patoi ;-).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You wil have your own room with a big bed inside the house. We provide sheets and towels.
    You will have to share the bathroom with me. It is expected to clean it after use.
    The others commun areas of the house and the estate are free of access as far as you keep the place clean.
    We are solar electricity dependant, so some rules of electricy consumption will apply, for exemple no use of microhoven during the night.
    The food is provide (as far as you help to prepare it) and you'll have the chance to taste my mother's succulent cooking.
    Wifi is provide but limited to 1Go of data per day.
    You are autonomous to use the washing machine for laundy during the morning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As our city is central of Grand-Terre, it is a good place to access the nice whitesand beaches of Guadeloupe. Renting a car can be a good option for flexibility, but if not there's a bus stop at 10mn walk from the house. We can give you all the good tips to have a great experience of Guadeloupe.
    The house go to sleep generally aound 10/11 PM but you are free to hang out (maybe you can join to me sometimes) as far as you respect the quietness when you come back.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can let my office a couple of hours per day, but we have to schedule it at the beginning of the week. The Internet is limited to 1Go a day for the guests.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Many space to park (even camp) outside. Not covered space though.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    21 hours of help per week, max 5 days of help a week

Host ref number: 964397951954

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)










Help for sailling boat !
Join us at the foot of the volcano and help with childcare and develop our cultural association in St Claude, Guadeloupe